Multidisciplinarity, interdisciplinarity, and sub-disciplines characterize medieval studies in most topical areas, while topics can expand beyond the limits of the medieval frame. This guide offers entry points to this complex scholarship..
MLA International BibliographyDetailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIncludes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Annual Bibliography of English Language and LiteratureHumanities database of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920–1999.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the PresentA resource for those with an interest in literature, women's writing, or cultural history more generally. With about five and a half million words of text, it is full of interpretive information on women, writing, and culture. It includes documents on the lives and writing careers of about a thousand writers, together with a great deal of contextual historical material on relevant subjects, such as the law, economics, science, writing by men, education, medicine, politics.