LibGuides: Anthropology- For Graduate Students : Media: Film, Images, Sounds, Podcasts

Video at UBC Library

UVic Libraries provides access to many films, including popular movies, documentaries, and video for learning. Films are available on DVD or streamable online. Find them in the main library catalogue or within these collections:

Video and Film

Kanopy Streaming Video Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
SAGE Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, and Digital Methods This link opens in a new window This unique collection of videos covers a range of innovative and cutting edge techniques and projects across data science methods, issues and challenges surrounding big data research, and applications of computational social science research. With a focus on what new methods and data sources can tell us about human behaviour, the collection contains interviews with leading academics at the forefront of developing these methods, and short documentaries exploring industry applications of data science. From basic programming techniques for those starting out, through to advanced techniques in deep learning, you will find helpful tutorials, tailored to those with different disciplinary backgrounds and experience.
SAGE Research Methods Foundations - Video This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Topics include: survey research, research design, data visualization, qualitative data collection, and R statistical package etc
Each collection includes a breadth of video types and lengths to support a variety of research and classroom needs:
• Case Studies, conference presentations, documentaries
• Films, interviews with leading experts on key topics, lectures for course instruction, revision or a different viewpoint on a topic
• Practitioner demonstrations of theories and techniques, short definitions of key terms and concept, tutorials illustrating practical applications of methods and concepts

Indigenous Cinema - National Film Board of Canada Free streaming of over 200 titles by indigenous directors.

Images

Museum of Anthropology

CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online NOTE: This resource was cancelled as of 2018-12-31. Access is no longer available via UVic Libraries. A resource of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use.
Images from the History of Medicine Provides access to thousands of images in the prints and photographs collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
ARTstor Images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
Oxford Art Online Access to an authoritative art resource. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more.

- The Medical Images and Multimedia Guide lists resources of interest to physical and medical anthropologists.

Ethnomusicology Streaming Resources

The following are links to online Ethnomusicology audio/video collections:

British Library - World and Traditional Music
Various collections of ethnographic sound recordings with a focus on music from Africa and Asia.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that provide anthropological descriptions of the cultural and social life of people around the world as well as relevant full-text documents (books, articles and dissertations).
EVIA Digital Archive
Ethnographic video for instruction and analysis including ethnographic field videos.
Global Music Archive
Contains the Digital Collection of East African Recordings.
National Jukebox
From Library of Congress, the National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Naxos Music Library World/Smithsonian
An invaluable resource for World music researchers, this database includes the complete Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, the non-profit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, as well as holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World. Smithsonian Folkways is dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound. First-class performances, over 9,350 albums available, and new albums added weekly.
Virtual Gramaphone
From Library and Archives Canada. A multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.

Anthropology Podcasts

This Anthro Life
Crowdsourcing the human condition to inspire communication, foster wonder and generate empathy.
Anthropological Airwaves
American Anthropologist's flagship podcast, exploring the craft of anthropology in all of its forms.
AnthroPod
Podcast from the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the AAA.
AnthroTalks
An audio extravaganza on the magical mundaneness of everyday life. Designed by practicing anthropologists, and supported by the National Association for Practicing Anthropologists, this show celebrates diversity of thought, culture and practices.
Anthropologist on the Street
Each week Anthropologist on the Street Dr. Carie Little Hersh invites another anthropologist or cultural expert to illuminate the hidden ideas, practices, and power dynamics that make our lives both familiar and strange.
Speaking of Race
"How did race become such a flashpoint in modern society, and why does it remain contentious in our genomic age?" In this first-of-its-kind transdisciplinary podcast, biological anthropologist Jim Bindon joins with cultural anthropologist Lesley Jo Weaver and historian of science Erik L. Peterson to explore our species' centuries long debate over how to define physiological and psychological difference, and why it continues to matter today.
The Familiar Strange
A blog, A podcst. Here to make what anthropologists know and do familiar.
A Story of Us
Explore the human experience through the eyes of graduate students at Ohio State University's Department of Anthropology