LibGuides: Anthropology- For Graduate Students : Find books beyond UVic Libraries

Find Books beyond UVic Libraries

If you find a book or other source that isnt held by UVic Libraries, you can request it via interlibrary loan and we'll try to deliver it as quickly as possible. You may find sources through citations, online searching, in a database or via a book review. You can use WorldCat to search for books intentionally:

WorldCat.org WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby. Links directly to UVic Libraries' Intrerlibrary Loans service, if you are on campus or logged into uvic.ca.
Book Review Digest Plus Library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest, this Retrospective database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and this database makes it easy to search this vast record of information.

Centre for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries.

CRL's deep and diverse collections are built by specialists and experts at the major U.S. and Canadian research universities, who work together to identify and preserve unique and uncommon documentation and evidence, and to ensure its long-term integrity and accessibility to researchers in the CRL community.

UVic researchers can borrow material from CRL via Interlibrary Loan. This is typically high-volume (entire collections), long-term (whole semester) loans, which can be used for research or teaching.

CRL has extensive collections on governent publications, scientific and technical reports, missionary records, and much more that may be of interest to anthropologists.