Historical primary sources for legal history

Use for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as: the text of the bill at various stages; government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills); legislative summaries; important speeches at second reading; votes; and coming into force data. Covers the 37th Parliament (2001) to the present.

Choose House "Business" or Senate "in the Chamber". Hansard (Debates) and Journals of the House of Commons and Senate of Canada are online from the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (January 17, 1994) to the present .

1st Parliament (1867-72) - 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994-96). After 1996, go to parl.gc.ca
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources collection from the Library of Parliament. Includes Journals and Debates.

Newspaper clippings pasted into scrapbooks by Library of Parliament staff from 1867 to 1871 remain the only organized source of parliamentary proceedings during that period. Official reporting of the debates of Canada’s Parliament began in 1871 in the Senate and in 1875 in the House of Commons. Coverage: Senate from 1867 to 1870,
House of Commons 1867 to 1874. Site created by the the Parliament of Canada in collaboration with the Library of Parliament

Early Canadiana version.

Early Canadiana version

3rd session, 34th Parliament 1991-1993 -
st session, 38th Parliament 2004-2005

Digital version covers 1867 to 1900. Print holdings covering 1867 to 1924 in Main at call number J103 H.
Early Canadiana version.

Includes: Cabinet, Commissions of Inquiry, Former Prime Ministers Archive, Guide to Canadian Ministries Since Confederation, Orders in Council, Royal Commissions.

Searchable database. From website"
"This database contains references to be found in more than 40,700 digitized pages of the original annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966 and the complete annual reports for the department of Indian Affairs from 1967 to 1990."

The official newspaper of the Government of Canada since 1841. Online coverage from 1998, with pdf versions "official" since 2002.

Library and Archives Canada digitized issues of the Canada Gazette from 1841 - 1997.

Records created by the Parliament of Canada, incluidng Sessional papers, census, annual reports, journals, and debates.

From the Privy Council Office