Commentary - journals and law reviews - Historical primary sources for legal history - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Best Bets (Law Journal Databases)

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text Provides complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Also provides international coverage, including periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 (H.W. Wilson) A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.
HeinOnline A collection of articles published in law reviews and other legal periodicals.

An Index to legal periodical literature
Call Number: Law Library Reference K33 I5354
[v. 1 (to Dec. 1886)-v. 6] (1932-1937).]

LegalTrac
Research in case law, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation and international law. Covers all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts
Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Makes available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
Arctic and Antarctic Regions
Indexes Arctic resources from the University of Alberta, Scott Polar Research Institute, Library of Congress, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Arctic Bibliography.

Specific Journals

Canadian Bar Review
Publication Date: 1923 -
Law Library also holds in print; Law Periodicals K3 A636
Canadian Law Times
Publication Date: 1881-1922
Law Library also holds in print; Law Periodicals K3 A655
Canadian Law Review
Publication Date: 1901-1907
Law Library also holds in print : Law Periodicals K3 A654
Canada Law Journal
Publication Date: 1868-1922
Law Library also holds in print; Law Periodicals K3 A535
BC studies by University of British Columbia Press
Publication Date: 1969-
Law Library also holds in print to 2014, Law FC3801 B18
British Columbia Historical Quarterly
Call Number: Internet Resource
Publication Date: 1937 - 1958
LInks to UBC Digital collection of BC historical resources: click image for BC Historical Quarterly
Western legal history [electronic resource] : the journal of the Ninth Judicial Circuit Historical Society.
Call Number: INternet Resource
Publication Date: 1988 - present
Also held in print in the Law Library K27 E7855
Western Law Times of Canada
Call Number: Law Periodicals
Publication Date: K27 E8731
v.4(1893)-v.6(1895). Previous title Western Law Times, v.1(1890/91)-v.3(1892).
The Western Law Times
Call Number: Internet Resoruce
Hein Online digital version. Vols. 1-6 (1890-1895) All published; Title Varies: Vols. 1-3#9 as Western Law Times. Library holds in print

Specific articles

Barry Morton Gough, Law and Empire: The Extension of Law to Vancouver Island and New Caledonia, (1993) 6 W. Legal Hist. 217.

Madge Wolfenden, "The Early Government Gazettes" (1943) 7: British Columbia Historical Quarterly 171.

The Queen's Printer for British Columbia: A History, 1859-2009. (Victoria, B.C.: Queen's Printer, 2009).

Joan N. Fraser, "Case Law Reporting in British Columbia" in Martha Foote, ed. Law Reporting and Legal Publishing in Canada: A History (Kingston, Ont.: Canadian Association of Law Libraries, 1997) 43.

Joan. N. Fraser. "Bibliographic Notes on Pre-Confederaion "Laws" in British Columbia" (1988) 77 BC Studies 54.