LibGuides: Historical primary sources for legal history: United Kingdom

Debates Records and Proceedings - Electronic

House of Commons (UK) Parliamentary Papers - 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries
The British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) provides access to documents of the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries up to 2004. Includes digitized full text images of over 180,000 British parliamentary papers. This comprehensive collection includes Hansard and all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons including Hansard, Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts, etc.

United Kingdom Parliament
Parliamentary News and Business, including Debates, Committees, Bills and Legislation, Publications and Records.
Hansard 1803-2005
This site is generated from information from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. Information presented here is generated from the publicly available XML files. There's Hansard itself; by volume, just the Lords sittings, Commons sittings or Westminster Hall sittings. You can also view Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports or Grand Committee reports
more...less...
Information used to make this site has been provided by the Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords. The site is still undergoing development and experimentation, and further features may be added in due course. Work to improve the quality of the data is also ongoing.
Corbetts Parliamentary History of England: from the Norman conquest in 1066 to the year 1803.
Cobbett's parliamentary debates, v. 1-12. 1066-1743; The parliamentary debates, v. 13-30. 1743-1794; Hansard's parliamentary debates, v. 31-36. 1794-1803.
Publications and Records UK Parliament
Commons Hansard from 1988, Lords Hansard from 1995, and the complete Hansard from 1803 - 2005.
London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes Online

Justis The UK Statutes database contains the full text of all Acts of Parliament in England, Wales and Scotland from the Magna Carta to the present day. All Acts appear as enacted, with links to amended and amending legislation allowing users to trace the development of the law. The UK Statutory Instruments database contains the full text of statutory instruments (regulations) issued from January 1, 1987 to the present, together with tables, diagrams and maps. Statutory instruments issued by the Scotti Justis provides case law and legislation for the UK and EU.
State Papers Online
Part I: The Tudors: Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
Part II: The Tudors: Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509 – 1603: State Papers Foreign, Ireland, Scotland, Borders and Registers of the Privy Council
Part III:The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I -Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic.
Part IV:The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council.
Eighteenth Century 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council

British History Online
Includes House of Lords Journals 1509-1793 and 1830-2; House of Commons Journals 1547-1699 and 1830.

Parliamentary Debates (Official Report, Hansard) by Great Britain
Call Number: J301 H22, J301 J22, J201 K22, Main
House of Commons and House of Lords Debatesa are hled from series 1 to series 6, 1803 to 1983, under various call numbers in Main.
Journals of the House of Commons [microform] by Great Britain
Call Number: KD90 G73 Priestly Law Microforms
v.1 (1547/1629) - v.237 (1980/81).
Journals of the House of Lords [microfom] by Great Britain
Call Number: KD74 G73 Priestly Law Microform
v.1 1509 - v.108 (1974/75)
Corbett's Parliamentary History of England from the Norman Conquest in 1066 to the year 1803. by Corbetss
Call Number: J301 H21 McPherson Library
Parliamentary debates from 1066 to 1803.
London Gazette by HMSO
Call Number: KD62 G73 Priestly Law Library Legislative Materials
ISBN: 0374-3721
1870-1993
Debates and proceedings of the British parliaments : a guide to printed sources by David Lewis Jones
Call Number: Reference Z2009 J65
House of Lords Sessional Papers
Call Number: McPherson Library J301 J6
Publication Date: 1714 - 1805
House of Lords Sessional Papers [microform]
Call Number: Microforms Centre / Film J301 J6 Accession no.389
Publication Date: 1806 - 1859

JustisOne
JustisOne contains one of the largest collections of UK case law. JustisOne also includes the Times Law Reports, legislation from England dating back to Magna Carta

House of Commons (UK) Parliamentary Papers - 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries, and are fundamental to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment.

JustisOne
Full text online legal library of UK case law dating back to 1163 and legislation from 1235. JustisOne also includes selective Canadian case law, dating back to 1876, including the Supreme Court, the Federal Court of Appeal, and appellate courts from Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan.

ICLR Online
ICLR as the authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting’s ICLR Online database contains all the case reports published by the ICLR since 1865.
English Reports
Provides access to over 100, 000 full text English cases from the period of 1220-1865, page-images of the original bound reprint edition, all Indexes and the Book of Charts.