For a full list of the resources available at UVic Libraries see the Newspapers and Popular Magazines research guide: https://libguides.uvic.ca/newsmags
his website contains all the issues of the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from its first issue in 1858 to December 1950
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1989.
Early Victoria NewspapersProvides access to four indices tens of thousands of summarized transcripts of article first appearing in newspapers published on Vancouver Island between 1859 and 1921: British Colonist (also called the Daily Colonist) from 1858-1921; stories related to the west coast of Vancouver Island; stories related to the Boer War; stories related to buildings, builders, etc.
Google News Archive is an extension of Google News that provides free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid.
Times Colonist 2011 - 2014Cick on "Select" to Choose Times Colonist. Available in this digital pdf microfilm version from January 2013. For earlier years consult microfilm reels at Microfilm AN5 T5 Accession no.814
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersA digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets of the 17th and 18th centuries from the United Kingdom. This collection includes: British Journal; Daily Courant; Daily Gazetteer; Daily Post; Evening Post; General Advertiser; Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle; London Chronicle; London Evening Post; London Gazette; Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser; St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post; Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer.
19th Century British NewspapersCollection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.
British Newspapers 1600-1950Digital historic newspaper archive including 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century British Newspapers. Also includes over 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera, and national and regional papers from the British Isles.
Daily Mail Historical ArchiveAn online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London), 1896-2004.
Sunday Times Digital ArchiveAs an online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Sunday Times (London), The Sunday Times Digital Archive is an essential resource for teachers, students and researchers interested in history, politics, social and cultural history, law, genealogy and criminology.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)A resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Ask us
