LibGuides: Indigenous Law / Indigenous Legal Traditions: Indigenous Organizations

UBCIC (Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs)

UBCIC Library & Archives Resource Centre
The UBCIC Library and Archives is a specialized research library and archives focusing on BC land rights research and specific claims.

Below are a list of selected online research collections at UBCIC. Visit their website to view all of their resources: https://www.ubcic.bc.ca/online_resources

RG10 Finding Aid
A finding aid for the records from the Department of Indian Affairs on microfilm.
Our Homes Are Bleeding - Digital Collection
Documents of the reserve system in Canada, aboriginal title and rights and First Nations resistance to colonial assertion of land title by the UBCIC.
Louise Mandell Legal Research Collection
A legal research collection dedicated to Louise Mandell and her work on Indigenous land claims. The collection includes UBCIC AGA meetings, court cases, publications, reports and legal analysis.
Federal and Provincial Collections of Minutes of Decision, Correspondence and Sketches
Includes materials created by the Joint Indian Reserve Commission and the Indian Reserve Commission from 1876-1910 on reserve creation in BC.
First Nations Digital Document Source
A collection of electronic documents on land rights and other Indigenous legal issues.

Yellowhead Institute

Yellowhead Institute is an Indigenous research centre based in the Faculty of Arts at Ryerson University, and focuses on policies related to land and governance.

Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge (University of Alberta)

"The Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge's purpose is to be a sustainable, community-engaged, and interdisciplinary unit, as a partnership between the University of Alberta Faculties of Law and Native Studies, to:

Support Indigenous communities' goals to identify, articulate, and implement their own laws and governance.
Develop, gather, amplify, and transfer wise practices, promising methods and research tools.
Produce useful and accessible practical governance resources and public legal education." (para 1) https://www.ualberta.ca/wahkohtowin/index.html

Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge
Research and Resources
Includes resources on Indigenous law, Indigenous citizenship, Indigenous governance, land-based and language-based learning, and more.

Qikiqtani Truth Commission

The Qikiqtani Truth Commission was created by the Quikiqtani Inuit Association as an independent inquiry into the killing of Inuit sled dogs and forced relocation of Inuit communities between 1950-1975.

Their detailed website includes video interviews, reports on community history, extensive thematic reports and special studies and their final report. https://www.qtcommission.ca/en/moving-toward-saimaqatigiiniq

Community Histories 1950-1975
The community histories from 13 Inuit communities, including interviews/testimonies and a report for each. A guide to the community histories is provided.

Our library holdings:

QTC final report: achieving saimaqatigiingniq by Qikiqtani Truth Commission
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 2010
The final report of the Qikiqtani Truth Commission.
Nuutauniq: mobility and Inuit life, 1950-1975 by Qikiqtani Truth Commission
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 2010
One of the reports produced as part of the 'Thematic Reports and Special Studies 1950-1975' of the QTC.
Final Report: RCMP Review of Allegations Concerning Inuit Sled Dogs by Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 2006
A ministerial report investigative report, which includes an internal RCMP report, oral testimony from Inuit Elders, and testimony from non-RCMP officials and community members, as well as references to published sources.

Research Centres

Indigenous Law Centre - University of Saskatchewan
Indigenous Law Research Unit - University of Victoria
Indigenous Legal Orders Institute - University of Windsor
National Consortium for Indigenous Economic Development - University of Victoria
Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge - U of A
U of A Faculty of Law Blog - Aboriginal Law
Posts from the University of Alberta Faculty of Law blog focusing on Aboriginal law

Indigenous Law / Indigenous Legal Traditions

UBCIC (Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs)

Yellowhead Institute

Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge (University of Alberta)

Qikiqtani Truth Commission

Research Centres

Associations and Advocacy Groups