Education - A Welcome to the Library for Faculty of Education Students

Education Librarian's Top 10

New to the theory and practice of education?  Here are my 'Top 10' resources to help you get started in your new field of study.  For information on more specific educational topics, consult this listing of 20+ other topic-specific library guides.

1. Library Search

   • When you are searching with a specific topic, but are not sure which source might be helpful then Library Search is your one-stop-shop for locating a variety of items held by UVic Libraries.  Library Search is a little like the libraries' own Google.  Remember that you can refine your results with filters such as 'peer review' or 'subject terms'. I usually use Boolean searching, but the advanced search interface is helpful too. 

2. The Library's Catalogue

   • If you know what you are looking for, for example if you know the title or author of a book, then the most effective way to search is to search our library catalogue, also known as the 'Books & Media" tab on the libraries' home page search box.  Make it as clear as possible for the search.  For example, if you know the exact title then type is the first few words of it and then select 'title begins with' from the drop down menu.  Exact spelling matters so be careful.  Also, you can search using Boolean here as well, just use the '?' instead of the '*'.

3. SAGE Research Methods

   • If you are new to research methods and feeling a bit overwhelmed, then SAGE Research Methods is the place for you.  All of SAGE publications' wonderful content is available through this one database.  There are reading lists, a methods map, a project planner, and a 'which stats test' tool.  You can also browse by research methods topics specific to the discipline of education. This is a phenomenal resource for those both new and experienced with research methods in the Social Sciences.

4. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research

   • The British Educational Research Association has teamed up with SAGE publications to produce this excellent reference source for all scholars and practitioners of Education.  "The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy, and practice.  Over two volumes, the handbook addresses educational research in six essential components: Section 1: Understanding Research; Section 2: Planning Research; Section 3: Approaches to Research; Section 4: Acquiring Data; Section 5: Analysing Data; Section 6: Reporting, Disseminating and Evaluating Research.  Featuring contributions from more than 50 of the biggest names in the international field, the BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research represents a very significant contribution to the development of education" (publisher's write up).  

5. International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)

   • I love this encyclopedia, it is definitely one of my all-time favs. The IESBS is an amazing online reference source which "comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes."  For me, the IESBS is second to none as an academic quality encyclopedia for students.  Some folks can spend hours browsing here and getting lost in reading on any manner of topics.  We have multiple subscriptions to the current edition from 2015 and the 2001 is still an oldie, but a goldie (subscription one and subscription two). 

6. Infed

   • Need an excellent definition of curriculum or an overview on the work of bell hooks? Then check out infed. Infed.org is an online, open, and not-for-profit encyclopedia.  You can browse by education-related ideas, category, practice, or thinker.  Produced by the George Williams College in London, UK, the aim of this resource is to provide "a space for people to explore education, learning and social action – and in particular the theory and practice of informal education, community learning and development, specialist education, social pedagogy and lifelong learning".  In my opinion, this and the Stanford Encyclopedia for Philosophy are exemplars for what open encyclopedias are all about.

7. Local school district Indigenous Education departments

   • For high quality education resources related to Indigenous education, consult both the Victoria District School Board's (SD61) Indigenous Education Department and the Saanich School District (SD63) Indigenous Education Unit.  The many links of resources, spotlights, and parent information are superb.  And depending on the areas you are teaching about, remember to look at IEd departments from school districts further away; for example, Comox School District (SD71) has an excellent Indigenous Education department as well.  To see how to connect these resources with the provincial curriculum, you can consult the British Columbia Ministry of Education's current K-12 curriculum.  The ministry's Indigenous Knowledge and Perspectives in K-12 Curriculum documentation and their links for Indigenous education resources are also helpful. 

8. Journal Citation Reports

   • Web of Science has an excellent journal citation reports tool where you can see what are the most highly cited journal titles in your field.  To browse journal titles in education, click the drop down menu of 'Select Categories', then select 'Education & Educational Research', for example, and, finally, press submit.  You can sort your results by various indicators, I usually select 'journal impact factor'. To learn more about journals themselves, consult Ulrich's Periodical Directory.

9. UVic Space

   • Want to see what previous students' theses and dissertations look like?  Or, are you ready to submit your own?  Then check out UVic Space, UVic's institutional repository.  You can browse by supervisor, department, or subject.  Soon your own work will be displayed there as well!

10. Citation Help

    • Most of your APA questions for in-text citations and your reference list format can be answered by using the UVic Libraries' APA Quick Guide 7th ed. For information  tips to avoid plagiarism, learn which citation management tool might be right for you, or write an annotated bibliography, we have heaps of information on that too!  Finally, I've created a citation help video tutorial specific to the needs of education students.  This video is 30-minutes long and covers the most frequently asked questions education undergraduate and graduate students frequently ask me.