LibGuides: Political Science: Statistics

Data Resources for Political Science Research

UVic Libraries Research Data Services
ICPSR Data Collection - International Data Resource Collection
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search for CBS NEWS to retreive archived Election Surveys, Monthly Polls, and Market Watch surveys published by CBS News.
more...less...
Established in 1962, ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world.
ICPSR Data Collection - Political Science Resources
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search for CBS NEWS to retreive archived Election Surveys, Monthly Polls, and Market Watch surveys published by CBS News.
more...less...
Established in 1962, ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world.

Statistics-International

United Nations Statistical Division - Common Database

UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.

WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System)

Presents the most recent and comprehensive health data on all of the 193 WHO Member States.

Current Index to Statistics (CIS)

The CIS is a bibliographic index to periodical articles and books in statistics and related fields.

Eurostat

The Statistical Office of the European Communities provides the European Union with statistics. Eurostat databases and electronic publications (pdf files) are available free of charge via the website. Statistics and data are arranged in broad statistical categories referred to as “Themes” and sub-themes.

Eurostat Yearbook

The yearbook and associated compendium publications span across either the full range or a large part of Eurostat statistical themes. These publications provide comparable and harmonised data for the European Union to use in the definition, implementation and analysis of Community policies.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique / Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis, Statistical Division. --
Call Number: HA12.5 U63

New York : United Nations, 1993-

OECD iLibrary The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) features its books, papers and statistics, and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. The OECD iLibrary contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). Excellent for comparative social and economic data.

UN Data
Developed by the United Nations Statistics Division, this portal searches all major UN databases. Databases from UN organizations such as FAO, ILO, UNESCO covering trade, industry, commodities, development, tourism and the environment. 13 databases are included with over 55 million data points of statistics gathered by the UN since its inception in 1945.
World Bank Open Data Intiative
New! April 22, 2010, the World Bank provides free access to its Data Catalog, providing download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.

Census/Survey-Canada

Canadian Census Analyzer

The Canadian Census Analyser, developed by the CHASS Data Centre at the University of Toronto, provides access to Canadian Census Data. It has been enhanced to provide more information and more options for users. For example, you are now able to tailor your output by selecting data categories you are interested in, from the full list of categories. Output formats include html, text, spreadsheet, SAS and SPSS.

The Canadian Census Analyser now includes access to:

- 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981 Enumeration Area/Dissemnation Area level Profile Tables
- 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1971, 1961 Census Tract level Profile Tables
- 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991 Provincial and Federal District Profile Tables
- 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1971 Individual Microdata Files.

Statistics Canada Analytical Studies

Statistics Canada is a world leader in research and published studies and research papers covering a wide range of topics dedicated to helping Canadians know more about their social, commercial, financial and economic situation.

Statistics Canada Census Gateway
The Census provides a statistical portrait of Canada and its people and presents statisitcal information describing the social and economic situation Canada. It's a reliable source of detailed data for small groups (such as lone-parent families, ethnic groups, inustrial and occupational categories and immigrants) and for areas as small as a city neighbourhood or as large as the country itself.
Statistics Canada DLI Data Collection
The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) makes available Canadian data resources and data products to UVic Faculty and students. The DLI Collection includes numerous Statistics Canada survey and census public use microdata files (pumf's), Excel Tables, databases and geographic files. Use of these data products is limited to academic research and teaching purposes.
more...less...
Please review the DLI License before downloading any data products. For a list of all the data products available in the DLI Collection visit the Statistics Canada DLI Collection web pages. To download a data product (for use with SPSS, SAS, Excel, or Beyond 20/20), connect to the Libraries Data Acquistion Servics (DAS) server. The DLI Collection can also be accessed using the web based UT/DLS: Microdata Analysis and Subsetting service and is a useful starting place for examining and exploring the DLI Collection without having to invoke SPSS, SAS or Excel. For questions and help with the DLI Data Collection, please contact the Data Services Librarian.