This video clip is an interview excerpt of Professor Onowa McIvor, the Director of the Indigenous Education program at the University of Victoria.
Reference books and other tertiary resources are often overlooked sources of scholarly knowledge. If you want a great definition of a theory that goes beyond wikipedia, I highly recommend these titles held by UVic Libraries.
Medicine for the Salish Language by 
A global perspective on costing Indigenous language revitalization by 
Handbook of the Changing World Language Map by 
Handbook of Research and Practice in Heritage Language Education by 
Rejecting the Marginalized Status of Minority Languages by 
Indigenous Language Revitalization in the Americas by 
Linguistic Ideologies of Native American Language Revitalization by 
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization by 
Indigenous adult language revitalization and education by 
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by 
The 2010 Report on the Status of B.C. First Nations Languages by In our own words [electronic resource] : bringing authentic First Peoples content to the K-3 classroom by 
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Language nest programs in BC [electronic resource] : early childhood immersion programs in two First Nation communities : practical questions answered and guidelines offered by A guide to language policy and planning for B.C. First Nations communities by Culture camps for language learning [electronic resource] : an immersion handbook by 
Language Endangerment and Language Maintenance by 
Indigenous languages revitalized? : the decline and revitalization of indigenous languages juxtaposed with the predominance of English by 
Bringing Our Languages Home by 
The Green Book of Language Revitalization in Practice by 
Saving Languages by Rejecting the Marginalized Status of Minority Languages by Quw'utsun : Hul'q'umi'num' category dictionary / Cowichan Tribes by A Concise Dictionary of the Nuuchahnulth Language of Vancouver Island by 
Tellings from Our Elders - Lushootseed Syeyehub by The purpose of this library guide is to support students in UVic's Graduate Certificate or Master's Degree in Indigenous Language Revitalization. In particular, this guide lists relevant resources held by UVic Libraries on language revitalization topics as recommended by students and instructors of these programs. Please let me know if you have recommendations for additional titles to be added to this guide or to be ordered for the libraries' collection.
For more specific resources organized by language family, please refer to the drop-down menu of the "Language Revitalization" tab above.
Because the naming of languages continues to change and develop, searching the libraries' holdings through databases and the catalogue can be challenging; please contact me if you require library research assistance. This guide continues to improve as I learn more about the language revitalization needs of UVic's students and researchers. Please let me know if changes are required.
Ask us
