LibGuides: Health Information Science / Health Informatics: Research Methodologies

Research methods databases

SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

If you are new to research or a seasoned researcher, SAGE Research Methods Online database is a fantastic resource! It contains dictionary definitions of research terms, encyclopedia entries with lists of major or seminal works, journal articles, books, videos, and practical "how to" guides in the form of "Little Green Books" (for quantitative research) and "Little Blue Books" (for qualitative research).

SAGE Research Methods Foundations - Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Topics include: survey research, research design, data visualization, qualitative data collection, and R statistical package etc
Each collection includes a breadth of video types and lengths to support a variety of research and classroom needs:
• Case Studies, conference presentations, documentaries
• Films, interviews with leading experts on key topics, lectures for course instruction, revision or a different viewpoint on a topic
• Practitioner demonstrations of theories and techniques, short definitions of key terms and concept, tutorials illustrating practical applications of methods and concepts
SAGE Research Methods Cases SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.

Health Information Science / Health Informatics

Call Numbers/Subject Headings

Qualitative research

Quantitative research

Research methods databases