Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Health Information Science / Health Informatics

How to search Summon, the Libraries' main search tool

Summon is the Library's Google-like search tool.  The difference is that Summon only searches the Library's collection. If your research topic is interdisciplinary (meaning your topic is not only related to health informatics but other areas as well) this can be a good place to start your research, and it will instantly give you a sense of what the library has on your topic.

Some advantages of Summon over Google Scholar:

  • Summon provides easy access to a massive amount of print and digital information provided specifically in support of teaching and research at UVic
  • Search results include books and ebooks from the UVic collection, as well as journal articles, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more
  • Search results can be limited to scholarly or peer-reviewed sources with one click
  • Citations in your search results can be viewed in six commonly used citation formats (APA, AMA, MLA, Uniform, Chicago, and Harvard), exported to citation managers, emailed, and printed

Databases that contain health informatics information

For database suggestions, refer to the Libraries' "Databases by Subject" page, which will provide you with an up to date list of health information science databases in our collection -- and there are many!

Browse individual journals

Selected journals to help you with your research.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.