LibGuides: Diversify Your Sources: Databases

Primo Search - How to find diverse content

The big search box on the library homepage is called Primo search. It equips with some filters that may help you find diverse content. For example, I searched "indigenous governance" and the results show as below. On the left of the screen, you can click on the subject terms or language tags to refine your results to be only from Japanese articles or only related to Social Science studies on the topic.

Databases to find diverse content

Many databases have specific features in both search design and collection scope that may help you find diverse content.

Alternative Press Index
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, Indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History & Culture
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
CiNii
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. Note: UVic has an institutional site license entitling access to fixed price articles, but fee-based materials require individual registration and additional payments.
Duxiu 读秀学术搜索
Duxiu (www.duxiu.com) is a powerful research/discovery tool for Chinese and Asian Studies. It supports searches in 2.4 million full-text Chinese publications and 3.1 million bibliographies. For the search results, the users can preview 2-3 pages of the original documents and request for the full-text through online document delivery.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
Gale's Literary Index
If you choose "Topic Finder" from the home page, you can search ethnic background such as African authors or Asian authors.

Global Index of Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle- income countries.

Index Islamicus
Index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Orbis - Bureau Van Dijk
Orbis is a global database which has information on over 50 million companies. Orbis includes advanced search and analysis software so you can identify and evaluate companies around the world using just one BvDEP product.

The Orbis database is also available on Mint Global which has been specifically designed for end-user access.
Project MUSE
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.