Online Literature Links - Selected by Department of Physics & Astronomy

The "Online literature" web page, hosted by UVic's Department of Physics & Astronomy, lists key Physics & Astronomy journals at http://www.uvic.ca/science/physics/research/research/online/index.php

UVic LIbraries Research Article Databases

Google Scholar Tip: If using Google Scholar it is recommended to connect via the Libraries website from the "Libraries Databases" page. The Libraries have uploaded our licensed content to Google Scholar so as to let UVic researcher know when access is available and will not be blocked by a pay wall.

Physics & Astronomy Research Databases

arXiv.org
NEW Search interface: An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.

NASA Astrophysics Data System Project which maintains four bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature.
INSPIRE (High Energy Physics information system) CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources. INSPIRE represents a natural evolution of scholarly communication, built on successful community-based information systems, and provides a vision for information management in other fields of science.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
SciVal
SciVal is a web-based analytics solution with unparalleled power and flexibility that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 20,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide. SciVal allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark relative to peers, identify potential strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
**Users will be required to login with an account username and password**
Scitation Scitation is the relaunch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. Scitation includes links to many rich sources of information, including ISI's Web of Science, MEDLINE, Chemport/Chemical Abstracts Service, SPIN database, INSPEC, EDP Sciences, X ArkiV, SLAC SPIRES, and other Scitation journals, among others.
SciFinder SciFinder provides desktop access to Chemical Abstracts and related databases from CAS. Search more than 8000 journals and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations). It also includes more than 26 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Date coverage: 1907-present (articles and patents); 1955-present (substances).
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
Medline (Ovid) 1946 - present The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Medline - (Web of Science) The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

What is SCOAP3?

What is SCOAP³? [source: https://scoap3.org/what-is-scoap3/]

SCOAP³ is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries and 3 intergovernmental organisations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP³ has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors. SCOAP3 centrally pays publishers for costs involved in providing Open Access, publishers in turn reduce subscription fees to all their customers, who can re-direct these funds to contribute to SCOAP³. Each country contributes in a way commensurate to its scientific output in the field. In addition, existing Open Access journals are also centrally supported, removing any existing financial barrier for authors.

SCOAP³ journals are open for any scientist to publish in without any financial barriers. Copyright stays with authors, and a permissive CC-BY license allow text- and data-mining. SCOAP³ addresses Open Access mandates at no burden for authors. All articles appear in the SCOAP³ repository for further distribution, as well as being Open Access on publishers’ websites.

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Courtesy of UBC Science & Engineering Library. Enter a journal abbreviation to determine the full journal title.
All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Physics & Astronomy 2023

Online Literature Links - Selected by Department of Physics & Astronomy

UVic LIbraries Research Article Databases

What is SCOAP3?

What is SCOAP3? [source: https://scoap3.org/what-is-scoap3/]

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

What is SCOAP³? [source: https://scoap3.org/what-is-scoap3/]