Skip to Main Content
askus Ask us

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

This guides provides information about the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) framework and links to highlighted resources available at UVic Libraries and beyond to support research on individual SDGs.

The Global Goals  - aka The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)


The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, demand an integrative and collaborative response to the wicked problems facing the world today. The 17 goals comprise:

  1. No poverty
  2. Zero hunger
  3. Good health and well-being
  4. Quality education
  5. Gender equality
  6. Clean water and sanitation
  7. Affordable clean technology
  8. Decent work and economic growth
  9. Industry, innovation, and infrastructure
  10. Reduced inequalities
  11. Sustainable cities and communities
  12. Responsible consumption and production
  13. Climate action
  14. Life below water
  15. Life on land
  16. Peace, justice, and strong institutions
  17. Partnerships for the goals
Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.