Skip to Main Content
Cleansing the Conscience of the People: Reading Head Tax Redress in Multicultural Canada
Rensia Mawani. 2004 Volume 19 Issue 2 Canadian Journal of Law and Society.
Mawani argues that the courts, politicians, and the public have read the Chinese Canadian redress campaign through two liberal nation-racial myths that circulate within and sustain Canadian discourses of multiculturalism: immigration as "choice" and Chinese Canadian as "model minorities" (Summary from the Anti-Racism Bookshelf by Niki Bains and Sylvie Vigneux).
Racism and the Law in Canada: A Geographical Perspective
Audrey Kobayashi, (1990) 11:5 Urban Geography 447-473.
This paper examines ways in which
recent changes in social theory allow an intersection of the disciplines of law and
geography in order to achieve a fuller understanding of racism. It uses as an example
the racist mythology associated with Canadian legal culture wherein, over the past
century, racist legislation and juridical procedures have been an important part of the
social construction of Canada as a place.
Reparation as Narrative Resistance: Displacing Orientalism and Recoding Harm for Chinese Women of the Exclusion Era
Sandra Ka Hon Chu, Canadian journal of women and the law, 2006, Volume 18, Issue 2.
This article examines the issue of harm within the historical context of Canadian immigration legislation that was directed towards Chinese migrants from 1885 to 1947. This article considers the injuries suffered by Chinese women of the exclusion era and canvasses feminist legal theory and the narrative possibilities of reparative litigation to explore the transformative possibilities in legal redress.
Gretta Wong Grant: Canada's first Chinese-Canadian female lawyer
Constance Backhouse, The Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice, 01/1996, Volume 15
The Japanese Canadian Movement: Migration and Activism before & after World War II
Masumi Izumi, Amerasia journal, 01/2007, Volume 33, Issue 2.
Izumi reviews the history of Japanese Canadians' political economic, and cultural activism, primarily in the West Coast, before and after World War II, and elucidates how migration generated and shaped those activities and activism.
Pulling lumber: Indo-Canadians in the British Columbia forest industry, 1900-1998
Richard A Rajala, B.C. Historical News, 12/2002, Volume 36, Issue 1
Victimized by a political culture that depicted Asians as the source of a host of social and economic problems, denied citizenship rights, and cut off from their families by immigration restrictions, East Indians found in the lumber industry a foundation for survival.
‘Chinamen, Wherever We Go’: Chinese Nationalism and Guangdong Merchants in British Columbia, 1871–1911
Timothy J Stanley, The Canadian Historical Review, 1996, Volume 77, Issue 4
Chinese reformers founded the Bao Huang Hui (Pao Huang Hui) or "Save the Emperor Society" in Vancouver British Columbia Canada on Jul 20, 1899. The association, the first mass political party in Chinese history, played a significant role in the history of Western Canada as well.
“Temporary Foreign Workers in Canada: Reconstructing ‘Belonging’ and Remaking ‘Citizenship’”
Ethel Tungohan, Social & Legal Studies, 04/2018, Volume 27, Issue 2
Ultimately, this article shows that temporary foreign workers reconstruct belonging and remake citizenship by making membership claims in Canada on the basis of their economic and social contributions to the country. Such claims, however, are grounded in dual modes of belonging in both Canada and in the Philippines.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
You can find here many articles about the history and current issues of Asian immigrants to America and Canada.
This database includes main news coverage from Asian countries. It will help us to understand an incident or event from different perspectives.
The Multicultural Canada digitization project grew from our conviction that the cultural groups that make up our country have little-known stories that need to be researched and told. Through newspapers, interviews, photographs, print and material culture people tell us who they are.The collection includes newspapers, oral histories, photographs, books, newsletters, legal documents, meeting minutes and other ephemeral materials.
Books from the catalogue
Racism, dissent, and Asian Americans from 1850 to the present : a documentary history by Philip S. Foner and Daniel Rosenberg (editors)
Call Number: E184 O6R23
Publication Date: 1993
Drawing from a broad range of articles, speeches, short stories, pamphlets, sermons, debates, laws, public statements, Supreme Court decisions and conventions, this documentary history demonstrates the persistence of a humanist, if not an anti-racist, pulse in American society in the face of discriminatory government policy and prevalent anti-Asian ideology and treatment.
Echoes of mutiny : race, surveillance, and Indian anticolonialism in North America by Seema Sohi
Call Number: F855.2 E2S67 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Seema Sohi traces how Indian labor migrants, students, and intellectual activists who journeyed across the globe seeking to escape the exploitative and politically repressive policies of the British Raj, linked restrictive immigration policies and political repression in North America to colonial subjugation at home. In the process, they developed an international anticolonial consciousness that boldly confronted the British and American empires.
Yellow peril! : an archive of anti-Asian fear by John Kuo Wei Tchen and Dylan Yeats (Editors)
Call Number: E184 A75Y45 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The 'yellow peril' is one of the most long-standing and pervasive racist ideas in Western culture-indeed, this book traces its history to the Enlightenment era. Yet while Fu Manchu evokes a fading historical memory, yellow peril ideology persists, WC animating, for example, campaign commercials from the 2012 presidential election.
Yellow Peril! is the first comprehensive repository of anti-Asian images and writing, pop culture artifacts and political polemic.
Myth of the Model Minority by Joe R. Feagin; Rosalind S. Chou
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2016
The book depicts the 'double consciousness' of many Asian Americans--experiencing racism but feeling the pressures to conform to popular images of their group as America's highly achieving 'model minority
Vancouver's Chinatown: racial discourse in Canada, 1875-1980 by Kay J. Anderson
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 1991
Anderson charts the construction of Chinatown in the minds and streets of the white community of Vancouver over a hundred year period. She shows that Chinatown -- from the negative stereotyping of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to its current status as an "ethnic neighbourhood" -- has been stamped by changing European ideologies of race and the hegemonic policies those ideas have shaped. The very existence of the district is the result of a regime of cultural domination that continues to exist today.
The voyage of the Komagata Maru : the Sikh challenge to Canada's colour bar by Hugh J.M. Johnston
Call Number: JV7285 S54J63 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A century has passed since the Komagata Maru arrived in Vancouver. Its arrival was a direct challenge to Canada’s immigration laws, which barred immigrants from India – yet the nearly four hundred Punjabi passengers on board the ship had been promised equality with all other British subjects, and they arrived to claim that right. For two months, the passengers were harassed by immigration officials and endured extreme physical hardship, until finally they were forced to return to India. The Voyage of the Komagata Maru is still the only comprehensive historical account of the Komagata Maru incident – a story of immigration, empire, politics, and human rights, which Canadians increasingly recognize as a critical moment in this country’s history.
Bittersweet passage : redress and the Japanese Canadian experience by Maryka Omatsu
Call Number: FC106 J3 O42 & ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 1992
Bittersweet Passage is a moving account of the Japanese Canadian struggle to come to terms with a painful history. It is also the story of the author's own odyssey to rediscover her family's past in both Japan and Canada and as a key figure in the movement to win redress from the government
Landscapes of Injustice : A New Perspective on the Internment and Dispossession of Japanese Canadians by Jordan Stanger-Ross
Call Number: Electronic
Publication Date: 2020
In 1942, the Canadian government forced more than 21,000 Japanese Canadians from their homes in British Columbia. They were told to bring only one suitcase each and officials vowed to protect the rest. Instead, Japanese Canadians were dispossessed, all their belongings either stolen or sold. The definitive statement of a major national research partnership, Landscapes of Injustice reinterprets the internment of Japanese Canadians by focusing on the deliberate and permanent destruction of home through the act of dispossession.
Brokering belonging : Chinese in Canada's exclusion era, 1885-1945 by Lisa Rose Mar
Call Number: FC3850 C5M238 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This work traces several generations of Chinese “brokers,” ethnic leaders who acted as intermediaries between the Chinese and Anglo worlds of Canada. At the time, most Chinese could not vote and many were illegal immigrants, so brokers played informal but necessary roles as representatives to the larger society. Brokers’ work reveals the changing boundaries between Chinese and Anglo worlds and how tensions among Chinese shaped them. By reinserting Chinese back into mainstream politics, this book alters common understandings of how legally “alien” groups helped create modern immigrant nations.
CCNC-SJ'S FACERACE TOOLKIT
The Chinese Canadian National Council for Social Justice's online toolkit provides examples of what racism looks like for children and families.