LibGuides: Southeast Asian Studies: Home

Welcome

Southeast Asia, geographically refers to the area located on the south of China, east of India, west of New Guinea and North of Australia. It includes countries such as Cambodia, Laos, Burma, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei, East Timor, Indonesia, Philippines, and Singapore.

This library guide aggregates library resources, research tools and online digital collections related to these countries.

Click on any of the tabs on the left to find books, articles, and more.

Best Bets

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

CrossAsia Fulltext Search
This open access tool provides searches across over 230 licensed databases and more digital collections to help users discover Asian Studies sources.

Global NewsBank Contains information on current issues and events selected from more than 1500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency tramsmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government documents.
JSTOR
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Nexis Uni Full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Project MUSE Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.

Southeast Asia Digital Library Catalogue The Southeast Asia Digital Lbirary provides open-access to books, articles, pictures, audio-visual, and archival materials about eleven countries in Southeast Asia. It also include many useful links and outcomes of relevant research projects.
Items not at UVic Libraries? Use Interlibrary Loans
Free service for UVic faculty and students. We will borrow materials from another library and bring them over for your research and learning.