LibGuides: Southeast Asian Studies: Reference Sources

Reference Books on Southeast Asia Studies

Encyclopedia of Asian politics by edited by Alexander C. Tan, Dennis Quilala.
ISBN: 1800374011
Publication Date: 2023
This state-of-the-art Encyclopedia provides a detailed snapshot study of politics in Asia.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by Karen Christensen (Editor); David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: DS4 E53
ISBN: 0684806177
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
The Encyclopedias comparative, cross-cultural approach allows students and researchers to identify the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world -- including Central Asia, the Middle East and the Far East -- and contemporary issues are given full and authoritative treatment. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Democratization by William Case (Editor)
ISBN: 1315674734
Publication Date: 2015-04-24
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Democratization provides the first book-length account of the reasons for democracy's declining fortunes in the region today.
Encyclopaedia of the South-east Asian ethnography : communities and tribes by edited by N.S. Bisht, T.S. Bankoti.
Call Number: DS523.3 E53
ISBN: 8187746971
Publication Date: 2004

Statistics and News Databases on Southeast Asian Countries

Global NewsBank Contains information on current issues and events selected from more than 1500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency tramsmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government documents.
Nexis Uni Full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
OECD iLibrary The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) features its books, papers and statistics, and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. The OECD iLibrary contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). Excellent for comparative social and economic data.
United Nations Data The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

UN Human Development Reports