LibGuides: Japanese Studies: Home

Featured Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
CiNii CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. Note: UVic has an institutional site license entitling access to fixed price articles, but fee-based materials require individual registration and additional payments.

CrossAsia Fulltext Search
This open access tool provides searches across over 230 licensed databases and more digital collections to help users discover Asian Studies sources.
Japan Search: Find Digital Archives in Japan
It supports cross-searches in NDL digital collections, digital archive system, museum collections and the Japanese National Bibliography.
Japan Times Digital Archive (1897-2016)
The Japan Times Digital Archive delivers over a century of Japanese perspectives on news, history, and world affairs. It is the only English-language Japanese newspaper archive of this depth.

JSTOR A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Publication Date: 1983

National Diet Library Digital Collections
This is a central place to search for Japanese publications including books, periodicals, rare books, historical records and so on. You will find information of over 2 million Japanese materials. Some out-of-copyright items are full-text available online.
Research Navi: Lists of Resources for Learning about Japan and Asia
Created by the National Diet Library of Japan, It covers various disciplines and links to databases, guides and materials relevant..

Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo This was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. The paper was published in Japanese from 1898-1944, and added Chinese text from 1905-1911. It is one of the most indispensable resources for the study of Taiwanese history during the colonial period. which was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule.

The Japanese Performing Arts Resource Center (JPARC)
NCC guide on Japanese Information Resources
This guide provides guide to access Japanese research resources. It is a good starting point but not all sources are freely available. Please contact your librarian for further questions.

Other videos on using your library for Asian Studies
Here are a series of short videos to help the Asian Studies students or researchers to do research in academic libraries.