LibGuides: Japanese Studies: Reference Sources

References Sources

Encyclopedia of Shinto This is an English translation of Shinto jiten.
Kojiruien (Dictionary of Historical Terms) Database This database was created to enable Japan researchers residing in Japan as well as abroad to more easily utilize the Kojiruien. Its search function is based on the 51-volume edition (bound in Western style) published in the Taish? period (1912-1926).
Japanese Literature The website provides indexes of Japanese writers and their works from the Classical Period to the Modern Period.
Japanese era and modern reign names

CJKV-English Dictionary: A Dictionary of Sinitic Characters and Compounds Related to East Asian Cultural, Political, and Intellectual History by Muller, Charles A.
"As distinguished from the numerous computer-aggregated East Asian language dictionaries proliferating on the Web, each of the entries in this CJKV-E dictionary is human-edited, and usually contains far more detailed information than any other comparable lexicon, being developed while consulting a wide range of authoritative Chinese, Korean, and Japanese sources, and usually through the direct reading of primary classical texts." -- from the Introduction.

Eijiro 英辞郎 on the WEB
English to Japanese and Japanese to English online dictionary
Kotoba Japan
include various dictionaries and vocabulary lists of terms used in different disciplines such as medical science and environment studies.
100 Classical Kana Words in Motion
KAKEN: the database of Japanese research grants and researchers
日本文学翻訳書誌データベース
Bibliography of translations of Japanese Literature

Japan encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference DS821 L6713 2002
ISBN: 0674007700
The Encyclopedia of Japan by Dorothy Perkins Some 1,000 alphabetical entries, reflecting both traditional and contemporary aspects of Japan, cover subjects including history, religion, education, government, the arts, food, wars, the family, and notable figures.
ISBN: 0816019347
Publication Date: 1990-08-01
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Publication Date: 1983
Shintō shi daijiten
Publication Date: 2004
The Columbia Anthology of Modern Japanese Literature by J. Thomas Rimer; Van C. Gessel
ISBN: 0231118600
Publication Date: 2005-04-13
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan by J. A. A. Stockwin
ISBN: 0415151708
Publication Date: 2003-06-24
A Dictionary of Japanese Food by Richard Hosking
ISBN: 9780804820424
Publication Date: 1997-01-15
The Anime Encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917 by Jonathan Clements; Helen McCarthy
ISBN: 9781933330105
Publication Date: 2006-11-01

A Malleable Map: geographies of restoration in central Japan, 1600-1912 by Kären Wigen
ISBN: 9780520259188
Publication Date: 2010-05-27
Isles of Gold: antique maps of Japan by Hugh Cortazzi A selection of over 90 historically significant maps of Japan. The book tells the story of the encounter between the West and Japan through the gradual process of mapping the island empire.
ISBN: 0834801841
Publication Date: 1983-11-01

Web Resources:

Japan Atlas The "Japan Atlas" homepage offers visual presentations on a variety of topics to anyone interested in the nature, traditions, and current social trends of Japan. The website is sponsored by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) and operated by a Japanese non government organization.
The National Atlas of Japan Geospatial Information Authority of Japan
Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa Era 285 maps from the UBC collection
Nichibunken Map Collection Provided by the International Research Center for Japanese Studies, with an emphasis on Edo period urban maps.
地図検索なら Mapion
It can be searched by post code, phone number, address to get the map details

UVic Libraries's Guide to Statistics Resources
This guide is designed to help you find Social Sciences statistics, primarily from Statistics Canada and the Canadian Census.

Statistics from the library's collection:

Statistical Data from the Japanese government:

Japan Statistical Yearbook Data downloadable
Statistical Handbook of Japan 2014 The Statistical Handbook of Japan 2014 is designed to provide a clear and coherent overview of present-day Japan through statistics. It provides statistical tables, figures, maps, and photographs to portray conditions in modern-day Japan from a variety of perspectives, including demographics, economic and social trends, and culture.
Historical Statistics of Japan The statistics covered in this publication range from 1868 to date.
Japan Population Census
Statistics Bureau of Japan Here you can find Population Census data, Japan Statistics Yearbook and historical statistics data.
JapanGov (in English)

CJK Calendar Conversion Chart You can use this tool to easily find out which year it was in Chinese, Japanese or Korean calendar and under which emporor and what is the Sexagesimal cycle and so on.
Japanese Year Converter
ALA-LC Romanization Tables
These tables provide guides on romanizing Japanese terms in a standard way