Japanese Studies

A central place for finding digital resources for Japanese culture. You may search more than a million items and build your own digital exhibition.

Hand-colored photographs of Japan and accompanying text dating from the end of the Edo Period through the beginning of the Meiji Period.

It includes regional and ancient maps.

It aggregates collections from many Japanese museums. You may browse by era or by location.

The Japanese Historical Maps Collection contains roughly 2,300 manuscript, woodblock, and copperplate maps of Japan and the world, ranging in date from the seventeenth century into the modern era.

The database provides search on information about mangas, animation, video games, and other media arts.

A guide for North American scholars who wish to use Japanese images in their scholarly publication

The resource page includes subscription-based or free media streaming platforms that provide access to the Japanese films.

HOOPLA is a video streaming collection that any Great Victoria Public Libraries users can access with their library card numbers and passwords. There are Japanese and Chinese films in the collection.

Information about Japanese TV dramas produced since 1940s.

Contains over 1.3 million digital movies, many of which are available for free to download.

Here you can search for information of Japanese films

The search engine allows you to search or browse the UVic Library's video collection by language and by genre. If you cannot find the recording that you want, We can borrow for you from other BC academic libraries, as well as Pic A Flic, a local video store. Here is the detail: http://library.uvic.ca/site/dept/access/media/videosnotatuvic.html

The CDDP Video Series offers instructional videos on freely available resources and cutting-edge projects related to Japanese Studies, highlighting useful tools and best practices.

The collection holds approximately 50,000 recordings of music, songs, and speech produced between around 1900 to 1950 in Japan. There are some recordings available at public domain while many can only be listened by NDL users.

Database of images of esoshi(illustrated books,popular among peple in the Edo period) held of the Nichibunken Library.

Images and textual information on Japanese art in foreign collections, including paintings, prints, ceramics, lacquerware, etc.

It consists of 126 woodblock prints that date from the eighteenth to early twentieth centuries.

The largest collection of Tsukioka Kōgyo 月岡耕漁(1869-1927) color woodblock prints outside of Japan from the University of Pittsburg; The set contains Nōgaku zue 能樂圖繪 (Pictures of Noh), Nōgaku hyakuban 能楽百番 (Prints of One Hundred Noh Plays), Nōga taikan 能画大鑑 (A Great Collection of Prints of Noh Plays), and Kyōgen gojūban 狂言五十番 (Fifty Kyōgen Plays)