SAGE Handbook of Political Communication
SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics
SAGE Handbook of European Studies
Sage Handbook of Governance
Encyclopedia of Libertarianism
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Supplementing but not replacing the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, ed. by Edwin R. A. Seligman and Alvin Johnson (1930–35) and the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills in 1968, this work includes a valuable Subject Index volume to assist the researcher. Also in print in McPherson Reference H41 I58
Cambridge Histories OnlineThis unique historical reference compendium brings the texts of the Cambridge Histories series to life. Includes access to over 250 titles covering over 15 different academic subjects.
This encyclopedia offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on the European integration process. Under the editorial directorship of Finn Laursen and associate editors Derek Beach, Roberto Dominguez, Sung-Hoon Park, Sophie Vanhoonacker, and Amy Verdun, the publication bringstogether peer-reviewed contributions by leading researchers on the European Union as a global actor. Topics include the basic treaties, institutions, and policies of the European Union and the previous European Communities, the European Coal and Steel Community, the European Economic Community, andthe European Atomic Energy Community. It also includes articles on the various conceptual frameworks and theories that have been developed by political scientists to guide research into the integration process and the policy- and decision-making processes with a focus on the roles of the differentinstitutions, the European Council, the European Commission, the European Parliament, and the Court of Justice of the EU. Additionally, the publication includes articles on the member states as well as external relations and foreign policies of the EU. As a result, the Oxford Encyclopedia ofEuropean Union Politics is a vital resource for students, scholars, and policymakers.
The Elgar Encyclopedia of Technology and Politicsis a landmark resource that offers a comprehensive overview of the ways in which technological development is reshaping politics. Providing an unparalleled starting point for research, it addresses all the major contemporary aspects of the field. Divided into five thematic parts, the Encyclopedia investigates the existing academic literature on the main subfields in this area, before introducing innovative digital research methods. It then highlights the pivotal political and non-political actors leading the process of technological innovation, clarifies key concepts and terms in the field, and finally covers emerging and debated topics. This Encyclopedia will be particularly invaluable for early career researchers and advanced students in politics looking for a concise entry point into any of the various ways in which technology shapes the field. It will also be useful for practitioners to familiarise themselves with the analytical opportunities provided by computational social and political sciences. Key Features: Entries written by over 90 scholars from 33 different countries on 5 continents Accessible starting point for research into the key literature, topics and debates in the field Introduces important new digital methods such as machine learning, text analysis and network analysis Defines and clarifies the meaning of contested terms such as disinformation, echo chambers and fake news
This dictionary defines critical terms relating to China's politics since 1949. It comprises succinct definitions covering core political structures, ideologies, and practices, as well as individuals, groups, and concerns that are essential to them. Covering the full spectrum of Chinese politics, authoritative and up-to-date entries include charm offensive, cybersecurity, hukou system, Silk Road, and the United Nations Peacekeeping Operations.
This dictionary is renowned for its authoritative and clear explanations of political terms, as well as its impressive coverage of international relations, heavily expanded for this edition. It remains an essential A-Z guide to political terminology and theory.
More than a decade after the concept for the first edition of the International Encyclopedia of Civil Society emerged, civil society remains as contested and strategically located a concept as it was then, and, therefore, a very fruitful and intellectually lively field of research that has prompted examination of a variety of new aspects. Moreover, civil society and the people and organizations involved in it have been affected over the past decade by numerous political, economic, and social changes and events that have left their mark in new relationships, new approaches, and new actors. These developments necessitate updating of the substantive regional entries on civil society and social capital and on philanthropy. Furthermore, these developments have likely affected legal and regulatory frameworks affecting civil society and various types of organizations and approaches. Additionally, research undertaken and published since the first edition has extended and deepened our understanding of many topics, from more general concerns such as definitions and theories of civil society to more specific issues such as those relating to organizational management.