Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Education - A Welcome to the Library for Faculty of Education Students - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Video tutorial on searching for dictionaries and encyclopedias

Why use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks?

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, or tertiary sources, are often overlooked sources of scholarly knowledge. If you want a great definition of a theory that goes beyond Wikipedia, I highly recommend some of these titles held by UVic Libraries.

Tertiary source: "A written work, such as a chapter in a textbook or entry in a reference book, based entirely on secondary sources, rather than on original research involving primary documents." (The Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science).

Comprehensive dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks on the subject of Education

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers and students with research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods, conduct their research, and write up findings.
SAGE Reference
SAGE Reference include Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Major Works providing students with the perfect place to start their research on key topics in the social and behavioral sciences.
SAGE Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable social science eBook platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content. Formerlly known as Sage Reference Online, Sage Handbooks Online and Sage Encylopedias.
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
SAGE Datasets
Find practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis.
The BERA/SAGE handbook of educational research
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.