LibGuides: Online Reference Resources: Online Reference sources by subject

Library Catalogue Subject Searches

English - early editions

Literary Research Guide by James L. Harner
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 0873528085
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Also known as MLA literary research guide.

Commonly known as: ESTC; this resource from the British Library is based on Pollard & Redgrave (STC I), Wing (STC II) and the 18th Century Short title catalogue. It includes citations to online and microform full text surrogates. Full text might be found in online in either EEBO (Proquest / Chadwick HealeyUVIC Netlink required, ) or ECCO (Gale,UVIC Netlink required). Fulltext also available in microform, see English Books 1475 -1650 [microform] PR1105 U5 Acc. no. 207 and English Books 1641-1700 [microform] PR1105 U5 Acc. no. 207. Thomason Tracts included.

Incunabula short title catalogue

The international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. Includes citations to full text reproductions. Full text might be found in Early European Books (Proquest / Chadwick Healey,UVIC Netlink required). Fulltext also available in microform, see Incunabula [microform] : the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500 Microforms Centre / Fiche Z240 I535

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue

From Proquest / Chadwick Healey, UVIC Netlink required. Full text may be found in various databases; check the Literature Research Database list for more information.

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Commonly known as: ESTC; this resource from the British Library is based on Pollard & Redgrave (STC I), Wing (STC II) and the 18th Century Short title catalogue. It includes citations to online and microform full text surrogates. Full text might be found in online in either EEBO (Proquest / Chadwick HealeyUVIC Netlink required, ) or ECCO (Gale,UVIC Netlink required). Fulltext also available in microform, see English Books 1475 -1650 [microform] PR1105 U5 Acc. no. 207 and English Books 1641-1700 [microform] PR1105 U5 Acc. no. 207. Thomason Tracts included.
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC) The international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. Includes citations to full text reproductions. Full text might be found in Early European Books (Proquest / Chadwick Healey,UVIC Netlink required). Fulltext also available in microform, see Incunabula [microform] : the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500 Microforms Centre / Fiche Z240 I535
Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) From Proquest / Chadwick Healey, UVIC Netlink required. Full text may be found in various databases; check the Literature Research Database list for more information.

History

International Historical Statistics: Europe
Provides a historical time series of economic and statistical data for the countries of Europe for the period 1750-2000 using a variety of published sources.

Science

Dictionary of Food Ingredients
5th ed. Springer, 2011
CRCnetBASE
Science, Technology, and Medical eBooks from Taylor & Francis Group
Handbook of nutrition and food
The new edition of the Handbook of Nutrition and Food follows the format of the bestselling earlier editions, providing a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Completely revised, the third edition contains 20 new chapters, 50 percent new figures, and updates to most of the previously existing chapters. Part I is devoted to food, including its composition, constituents, labeling, and analysis.

English - Authors

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism collects more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.