Online Reference Resources

Provides subjects as diverse as anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies as well as fashion and textiles and insights into people and cultures all over the world.

Launched by the Historica Foundation of Canada with the financial assistance of the Department of Canadian Heritage it includes articles on Canadian biographies and places, history, the Arts, as well as First Nations, science and Canadian innovation.

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition is an authoritative resource covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. With more than 320 articles and 1,600 figures and photographs, this revised version of the award-winning first edition offers comprehensive coverage of this important field.

The Encyclopedia of British Columbia contains 4,000 entries and 1,500 photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips about British Columba's people, places and things.

The Encyclopedia of Health Economics offers students, researchers and policymakers objective and detailed empirical analysis and clear reviews of current theories and polices. It helps practitioners such as health care managers and planners by providing accessible overviews into the broad field of health economics, including the economics of designing health service finance and delivery and the economics of public and population health.

Aimed primarily at students, researchers and professionals who are seeking an authoritative source of information about any particular aspect of linguistics or its applications. ISBN for ebook 9780080448541.

The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences launched in 2001 and comprises millions of words, articles,illustrations, index entries and links and is current to date.

Developed under the auspices of the UNESCO, it is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. It deals in detail with interdisciplinary subjects, but it is also disciplinary as each major core subject is covered in great depth, by world experts.

Includes Illustrations in the form of photos and maps, a great tool for local BC History and includes the rich heritage of BC place names added in the 20th century

The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences, Second Edition develops from the first edition, covering all areas of neurological sciences through over 1000 entries focused on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience.

Provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the Mongol conquest of China and the War on Terror; from the Ottoman Sultan, Suleiman ‘the Magnificent’, to the Soviet Military Commander, Georgi Konstantinovich Zhukov; and from the crossbow to chemical warfare.

Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts.

Provides comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam.

Contains well over a million words and more than 1,000 entries, the Encyclopedia has unparalleled breadth and depth. Entries range in length from brief paragraphs to major essays of 15,000 words, offering a more thorough treatment--including expert synthesis and indispensable bibliographies--than conventional handbooks or dictionaries

All entries are made by a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. The dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.

The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences launched in 2001 and comprises millions of words, articles,illustrations, index entries and links and is current to date.

Oxford, 2009.

Informaworld CRC Press, 2008

The Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture explains a wide range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture including subjects, topics, themes, artists, works, movements, and buildin

The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, which comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts and arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index.

Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colorful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes--from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration--are examined in depth and detail.