LibGuides: Online Reference Resources: Online Dictionaries

About this page

Dictionaries listed on this page are not part of online reference publisher collections and are best acccessed via specific urls provided in a library catalogue record.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionaries Online
The database includes dictionaries of English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Chinese.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
TERMIUM Plus
TERMIUM Plus® is an English-French-Spanish electronic dictionary consisting of terms, synonyms, acronyms, definitions, phraseology units, examples of usage and observations in a wide variety of fields such as administration, science and informatics. Produced by Public Works and Government Services Canada. Click Launch to begin. Password and ID are not required.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists.

A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Provides 1,500 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field.

Dictionary of Old English (DOE)
Defines the vocabulary of the first centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. Also complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary.