War of 1812 - History - Military, Peacekeeping and War - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you with research on the War of 1812. The guide is not exhaustive; there are other resources and approaches available. Always keep in mind course requirements as set by your professor.

Canadian, American and British historians often have very different points of view on all aspects of this conflict. Pay attention to the origin of your sources and their authors to get a complete picture. For a brief introduction to the controversies, see "Damn Yankees", the Macleans cover story on October 17, 2011.

Important Reference Works

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Contains biographical entries on persons who died between 1000 and 1930, or whose last known date of activity falls between these years. Meet people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada.
Historical Atlas of Canada The Historical Atlas of Canada project published three volumes which explored major themes and episodes in the history of Canada using maps, text and graphics.
Oxford Companion to Canadian History This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
Canada Year Book Collection
The (discontinued) annual review of major social and economic trends in Canada published by Statistics Canada. Online editions cover 1867 to 1967, and 2001 to 2012. Print holdings in Main at call number HA743 11-402.
Canadian Public Policy Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Call Numbers/Subject Headings

Canada History

Some suggested Subject Headings to get you started when finding books...

More Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Canada in the Making - Biographies and Reference page
Canada's Military History Gateway
Covers the years 1100-2000.
Encyclopedia of the North American colonies
Home front encyclopedia : United States, Britain, and Canada in World Wars I and II
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples
Canadian Military Heritage (ebooks)
Online or use the 3 volumes in print: Reference FC226 C53513 1993

More Atlases, Biographies and Chronologies

Atlas of Canada - History
Discover Canada's history through maps and facts. Maps from 1630s onwards document Canada's peoples, places, and histories.
List of Topics:
Historical Indian Treaties
Aboriginal Peoples circa 1630, 1740 and 1823
Pre-Confederation Canada (1740 and 1823)
Territorial Evolution
Exploration 1497 to 1760
Timeline of Early Americas
Click on each entry to see the corresponding article in Oxford Reference Premium.
Facing History: Portraits from the National Archives of Canada
Portraits of many of the persons found in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.
Leading Ladies, Canada
Biographies of women in Canadian History.
Canadian Timelines - Oxford Reference Online
Click on an event in the timeline to link to the relevant entry in Oxford Reference Online. Currently covers Canada from 1900 to 1999.
Timeline of Canada's Military History
From the Department of National Defence.

Popular Magazines and News

Canadian Newsstream
Full text access to articles, columns, editorials and features, many with extensive backfiles to the mid-1990s. including the Globe and Mail, National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist. Updated daily.

Index to Pre-1900 English Language Canadian Cultural and Literary Magazines (Colonial -1900) McPherson Library Reference AI3 V56 [CD-Rom station in Music & Media library]. Indexes articles, poems, short stories, illustrations, and editorials in 191 magazines.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail Includes the full pages of The Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2012.

British Colonist (Victoria, BC) 1858 - 1969

Libris Canadiana Index to Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.

On the Web

1812history.com
Dedicated to making surviving records and artefacts from the War of 1812 available to everyone.
From Colony to Country: a Reader's Guide to Canadian Military History
From Library and Archives Canada, outlines key events in Canada's military history and features a section on the War of 1812.
Guide to the War of 1812 (Library of Congress)
This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the War of 1812 that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the War of 1812 and a bibliography.
Military Resources: War of 1812 (National Archives)
Archives Library Information Centre provides convenient access tot he holdings of the the US National Archives and Records Administration.
Real People's History - War of 1812
This site investigates First Nations involvement in the War of 1812 with primary sources, photographs, essays and more.
Teaching American History
A professional development organization for teachers. Contains lesson plans and a library of primary source documents. Look for War of 1812 material in the 'Founding Era' section.
The Man Who Captured Washington - General Robert Ross
Site marks the bicentennial of the War of 1812 by focussing on one player in the events.
War of 1812 (Open Directory Project)
The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.