History - Military, Peacekeeping and War

Many of these are available online.

A bibliography, many entries have links to full text online. Find these titles in our library catalogue or via interlibrary loan.

65 official histories in our library catalogue.

53 official Canadian histories of the Second World War.

50 volume series, from the NZ Electronic Text Centre.

Campaign histories and regimental histories covering New Zealand's involvement in the First World War.

These are official histories of the US in World War Two, also known as "Green Books." The entire collection of the Army Center of Military History's United States Army in World War Two series is available on CD Rom (see link, above). A list of the "Green Series" books can be found online: http://www.history.army.mil/html/bookshelves/collect/usaww2.html. UVic Libraries also holds many of these titles in print - find them in the catalogue.

The complete collection of the Center of Military History books, monographs, posters, and brochures on the Korean War.

Collection of works on World War II from the Center of Military History on the operations and campaigns in the European, Mediterranean, and Middle East theaters.

Collection of works on World War II from the Center of Military History on the operations and campaigns in the Asiatic-Pacific theater.

Collection of works on World War II operations and campaigns from the Center of Military History.

Collection of works on World War II operations and campaigns from the Center of Military History, commonly known as the Army green books.

Collection of works on World War I, including all of the U.S. Army Center of Military History's published works on World War I. Features source documents, commentaries, and artwork.

Our CD Rom collection is more complete than this online version of the Army Center of Military History's World War I Collection.

First and Second World War histories are available online. Korean, South-east Asian conflicts, and Peacekeeping and post-cold war operations are listed in bibliographies. These can be found in our catalogue or ordered via interlibrary loan.

Intended to provide a readily available summary of useful knowledge. Prepared by the Memorial's Military History section, these are not official histories, but are still very useful.

The first English language translation of Der Weltkieg, the German official history of the First World War.

Uvic Libraries holds many volumes of this official German history of the First World War (text in German).

These books, of which we have an incomplete set, document the results of the US Army Historical Divisions's 15 year project to document every aspect of the German War effort, first with German POWs (and later, with those POWs as civilian employees of the US Government). UVic libraries holds volumes 6, 9, 16, 17, and 19 through 24.
This article by former UVic Instructor James A Wood explains the origins of these books in detail: http://ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/journal_of_military_history/v069/69.1wood.html