Biochemistry

Protocols based upon published literature, laboratory submissions, and individual experimental data.

A wiki page set up in 2005 by graduate students at MIT. It was created to share discoveries and information in biology among members of the scientific community. The page features various sections including protocols, labs, and courses

The Protocol Exchange is an open resource where the community of scientists pool their experimental know-how to help accelerate research. Discover the protocols, share a protocol, join a lab group, comment on protocols. Free.

Protocol Online is a large database of life science protocols provided by suppliers, researchers and labs around the world. It was created by POL Scientific, which publishes a variety of journals, including the Journal of Biological Methods. Protocols are divided into categories and subcategories making them easy to find. There is also a search feature to help you locate a protocol you need even faster.

An open-source, open access, manually curated and peer-reviewed pathway database supported by NIH. Pathway annotations are authored by expert biologists.

A scientific methods search engine designed to search the web and its database of updated protocols for scientific methods. After finding a protocol, you can edit it to match exactly how you performed your experiment. You can then save your new edited copy and share with colleagues at your own discretion. SciGine also features a blog that provides techniques and tips for some of the most common biologic procedures such as the Western Blot.

Free methods and protocol videos created by science educators and scientists.

JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes experimental techniques in video format. Many videos are Open Access but not all.

Tutorials and information about a variety of topics.

An online peer-reviewed protocol journal with the mission to make life science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality free access protocols.

A peer-reviewed, open-access journal dedicated to publishing original laboratory methods, related technical tools, and methods-oriented review articles that are of broad interest to professional life scientists.

The Journal of Biological Methods (JBM) is a multidisciplinary and open-access journal committed to publishing peer-reviewed papers on cutting-edge and innovative biological techniques, methods and protocols.

An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal aiming to establish and describe new experimental techniques in Biological and Medical sciences.

An open-access protocol journal from Cell Press. The aim is to make the daily work of the scientific researcher easier by providing complete, authoritative, and consistent instructions on how to conduct experiments.

Provides a range of functions essential to molecular biology experiments, including nucleic acid and protein conversions, melting temperature, temperature conversion, molarity and dilution calculations.

Allows users to select and run protocols for a range of Promega kits, add notes, use timers, edit protocols to create your own custom protocols, or enter your own and save them locally.

Encylopedia of Lab Protocols. It provides offline access to hundreds of complete protocols and allows users to create a favourites list for easy organization.

Tips, advice, and wisdom from scientists to help each other improve in the lab

A blog written about lab protocols and resources by a researcher at the Salk Institute.

Hivebench is an electronic lab notebook with a feature available for users to upload protocols to an open-access protocol database. Anyone can post protocols for public viewing and the protocols are not peer reviewed before becoming accessible to users.

Provides data from NMR spectroscopic investigations of biological macromolecules on proteins, peptides and nucleic acids.

Comprises 40 molecular and literature databases.

One of the world's three major sequence databases. An annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

Includes the Metabolomics Workbench Metabolite Database, which contains structures and annotations of biologically relevant metabolites, Human Metabolome Gene/Protein Database (MGP) which contains data for over 7300 genes and over 15,500 proteins, and RefMet: A Reference list of Metabolite names.

Provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps.

This resource provides central access to structures in the Protein Data Bank (PDB), along with functional annotations, associated homology models, worldwide protein target tracking information, available protocols and the potential to obtain DNA materials for many of the targets.

A depository for the processing and distribution of 3D biological macromolecular structure data.

Maps of biochemical pathways. Enzymes are linked to the corresponding ENZYME Data Bank entry. Map 1 is Cellular and Molecular Pathways and Map 2 is Metabolic Pathways.

Taxonomy information by species from a derived protein sequence.

A repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes.

Nearly 3000 terms and definitions.

Recommendations on nomenclature for metabolites, enzymes, macromolecules, vitamins, hormones and much more.

Developed by the Johns Hopkins Medical Institution, this program allows users to create nucleotide and protein sequences.

Contains over 28000 structures and is linked to the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographical citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbours.

The Hancock Lab at the University of British Columbia develops new approaches to fight infectious diseases. Freely available protocols focus on virology and microbiology.

MaizeGDB is a community-oriented, long-term, federally funded informatics service to researchers focused on the crop plant and model organism Zea mays.

This Data Base includes 5,430 novel substances published in the Journal of Antibiotics.

Publishes the results of leading-edge research into physical, chemical, biochemical and biological aspects of nucleic acids and proteins involved in nucleic acid metabolism and/or interactions.

An open access, peer-reviewed, online journal for the plant research community that encompasses all aspects of technological innovation in the plant sciences.

A database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Arabidopsis is a common weed related to food plants like cabbage, radish, and cauliflower. It was the first plant genome to be completely sequenced, is small and easy to grow, and is used as a model plant for research and education.