LibGuides: Biochemistry: Find Articles

Journal Collections

American Chemical Society Journals
Access to the full text of all American Chemical Society journals from 1879 to the present.
BioMedCentral
Science, technology, and medicine publisher of 281 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
BioOne
High-impact bioscience research journals.
Cell Press Journals
Includes Cell, Neuron, Immunity, Molecular Cell, Developmental Cell, Cancer Cell, Current Biology, Structure, Chemistry & Biology, Cell Metabolism, Cell Host & Microbe, Cell Stem Cell, Biophysical Journal, and The American Journal of Human Genetics. Cell Press also publishes the Trends family of reviews journals, including Trends in Cell Biology, Trends in Neurosciences, and Trends in Plant Science, and more.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.

Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Biosis Citation Index
Life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing. This resource is current up to December 2015.
Medline (Ovid) 1946 - present
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PubMed
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
SciFinder
SciFinder provides desktop access to Chemical Abstracts and related databases from CAS. Search more than 8000 journals and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations). It also includes more than 26 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers.
Date coverage: 1907-present (articles and patents); 1955-present (substances).
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

PubMed Tutorials

PubMed tutorials
This page has a list of tutorials published by the National Library of Medicine. .
.Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
This is tutorial created for clinicians, nurses, allied health professionals to develop a clinical question using the PICO framework.
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
This tutorial will demonstrate how to use PubMed's Advanced Search features to refine your search with the example of a publication date range; and find journal and author names using the autocomplete feature.

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-reviewed articles have been evaluated by several researchers or subject specialist in the academic community prior to accepting it for publication. Also known as scholarly or refereed.

Verify that a journal is peer reviewed (refereed) by looking up the journal title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Remember that there may be content in peer reviewed journals which is not peer reviewed. These may be book reviews, letters, or front and back matter. In most cases, though, the research articles within will be peer reviewed. Consult a librarian if you're not sure.

Scholarly vs. Popular

"Scholarly" or "popular" are terms used to describe a source's content, purpose, audience, appearance, citations and more. Popular sources are useful for getting ideas for a topic or for background and anecdotal information. Watch the video below to find out more about Scholarly vs. popular sources:

Biochemistry

Google Scholar

eJournals by Subject

Database Tutorials

Browzine

Journal Collections

Useful Databases

PubMed Tutorials

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

Scholarly vs. Popular