Skip to Main Content
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
A carefully edited database containing the top 25000 most commonly cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts.
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
The Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds is a carefully edited database of more than 62,500 entries and nearly 105,500 compounds, containing descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds, systematic and common names of compounds, literature references and more.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers
This reference, in its second edition, contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including the names of chemicals, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Wiley)
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and use
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
The sixth edition of this popular dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. Fully revised and updated, it boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary’s appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects,
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry reflects the progress and change of the past two decades. Chemistry is of vital importance to today’s world with applications in areas such as communications and electronics, energy sources and conversation, waste handling and pollution control, biotechnology, molecular biology, food growth and production, and the development of pharmaceuticals, biologicals, and chemotherapeutic methodologies. Containing over 75% new text, this single-volume source has been significantly restructured to capture the expansion of chemistry into new fields and the impact related sciences have had on the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of chemistry.
ChemSpider: Database of Chemical Structures and Property Predictions
A free service providing a structure-centric community for chemists including access to millions of chemical structures and integration of a multitude of other online services.
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis (2010, 3rd edition)
The CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, Third Edition is a one-stop reference that presents updated data designed for use in designing an analysis or interpreting results.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research. First published in 1914, currently is in its 100th edition, published in 2019.
eChemPortal allows simultaneous searching of reports and datasets by chemical name and number, by chemical property, and by GHS classification.
International Tables for Crystallography International Tables for Crystallography
is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science.
Each of the eight volumes in the series contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal-structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The data are accompanied by discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Chemical and physical property data for chemical species. Website provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
Springer Handbook of Enzymes
Concise and complete description of about 5,000+ enzymes sufficiently well characterized as well as their application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, in food industry, and for medicinal treatments
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
The Spectral Database for Organic Compounds is a free online searchable database hosted by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology in Japan, that contains spectral data for ca 34,000 organic molecules.
Polymers: A Property Database
This is a large database giving a variety of properties for a very wide range of polymer types.
CCOHS Web Information Service
The CCOHS Web Information Service (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) provides online access to Material Safety Data Sheets, RTECS - the Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances, and other health and safety related resources.
Browse the MSDS database from the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)
Springer Nature Experiments
Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences with Springer Nature Experiments. Experiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with the most relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects.