Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Web Archiving for curators

Recommend a Collection

Web Archive Collection recommendations should follow:

  • the guidelines set out in the Uvic Libraries Website Collection Policy, namely: "web content that contributes to learning,teaching and research at the University of Victoria."
  •  the UVic Libraries Digital Ethics Report (2019) recommendations regarding negotiation of of research protocols with Indigenous communities

Curators must also:

  • check for overlapping / similar web archive.  Start by checking the web archives of COPPUL libraries; See https://coppul.ca/web-archiving for links to public-facing Archive-It collections from COPPUL members. 

If you would like to see who has archived a specific webpage you can use the 'Collections' tab on the WayBack Machine.

Another useful tool is web archive search tool Memento for Web - Time Travel. This search tool allows you to search other web archives that are not using the Archive-It or the Internet Archives infrastructure.

The Recommend a Collection  form will also ask you to provide details about: focus, objective, audience, provide sample urls, and existence of  any similar web archive collection.

Complete the form prior to your initial training session.  Complete forms are sent for review  to all members of WAWG.  Completed forms are viewable on Connect.

 

Archive-It vidoes and guides

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.