LibGuides: International law: Policy Documents

About Policy Documents

Policy documents from governments and international organizations are often contained in electronic collections.

Some are freely accessible and others must be accessed from the Libraries website or this guide.

Policy may be contained in many types of documents, for example, speeches, reports, studies, and legislative debates.

Codification and Progressive Development of International Law
This site provides links to the legal bodies responsible for the codification and progressive development of International law.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary
Information on IMF's activities and policies, as well as its 185 member countries. Includes statistics, books, periodicals, working papers, country reports, World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Reports, Regional Economic Outlook,
International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics.
World Trade Organization (GATT)
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.

OECD iLibrary
Search results include chapters, data, graphs, articles, all downloadable with permanent urls and citations. Excellent for comparative social and economic data. The OECD iLibrary comprises book, report, journals, key reference titles and the OECD statistical databases. 1998-. Presents harmonized statistical data from the 32 member states, all free market democracies.

International Labour Organization
The International Labour Office publishes the results of research related to the changing nature of work and employment which is of importance to policy makers and others.

World Bank Documents and Reports
Documents and Reports is a collection of more than 203,000 World Bank operational documents and working papers.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

United Nations Human Rights Publications (OHCHR)
United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
United Nations Official Document System - ODS
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993.
Global Policy Forum
Global Policy Forum monitors policy making at the United Nations, promotes accountability of global decisions and advocates on vital issues of international peace and justice.
EU Publications
EU Publications is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies from 2003.

FAO Corporate Document Repository
The Food and Agriculture Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet
FAOLEX
FAO is an agency of the UN. Access basic texts, treaties, the databases FISHLEX, WATERLEX, and the Right to Food virtual library.
more...less...
Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN.
Alternate url http://www.fao.org/legal/index_en.html
ECOLEX
Ecolex is operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. It contains treaties, cases, legislation and literature related to environmental law.

Government of Canada Publications
The Government of Canada Publications Web site is the access point to locate publications authored by Government of Canada departments.
more...less...
These publications encompass both traditional printed documents and publications in alternative formats and electronic products. The database includes over 100,000 titles and includes newly published and previously published works, such as nnual reports, commissions, regulatory information, policy paper and publications of Statistics Canada.
Canada Global Affairs