Find data for research

UVic Libraries manages both licensed and open data resources. We also manage data and statistics packaged specifically for researchers as well as data independently produced by colleagues during the research process. Both types of data can be public or restricted.

If you're looking for historical data, remember that our Special Collections & University Archives steward "data" from generations of researchers across disciplines. Contact them directly to see what is available. Example: environmental & oceanic archives, field notes, etc.

Data are available for discovery and reuse in many places. Some datasets may be open without restrictions on reuse, while others may require an application for reuse and information about intended reuse. 

UVic Libraries

UVic Libraries provides access to data and statistical information.

Access to Statistics Canada microdata and aggregate data, as well as survey data and other datasets licensed by UVic Libraries is accessible through the Abacus Data Network repository. 

UVic Libraries also provides support for locating data and statistics.

• Geospatial Data 
• Health Statistics
• Statistics and Data for Business
• Statistics Canada Census and Survey Data

To find published research data resulting from research projects, search across research data repositories:

• Federated Research Data Repository, a national repository of datasets from Canadian institutions
• Re3data.org, an online registry of data repositories across academic disciplines

UVic Research Data Centre

For access to confidential microdata from Statistics Canada census and surveys, contact the UVic Research Data Centre.

• The UVic Research Data Centre is located on the basement floor of the McPherson Library and offers 6 workstations.
• Visit the Statistics Canada Microdata Access Portal to apply for access.
• Search available data sources via the Canadian Research Data Centre Network website.

Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections & University Archives contain resources from generations of UVic & local researchers; these include a seaweed inventory project (Alan Austin Fonds); underwater salmon research; B.C. Environmental associations (Mallard Fonds); various scientific field notes; and more. Contact Special Collections or University Archives to learn more.  

There is a difference between data that can be used FOR research, and data that are produced FROM the research process. Knowing what kind of data you are looking for ("for" or "during") will help you locate the resources you need. 

Data FOR Research (Statistics, Open Data)

• Many organizations produce data that can be used in the course of scholarship; these may be governmental agencies, health agencies, and corporations. These organizations produce data that you may use to construct arguments in research. These data can be licensed or made openly available on trusted websites; they tend to be peer-reviewed or simply have authority based on their source. See the links below to find these types of data.

Data FROM Research (Research Data)

• Data resulting FROM research and scholarship, including the data you produce that underlies your publications and funded research projects, are shared through research data repositories typically hosted at home institutions. UVic's Research Data Repository is called UVic Dataverse (Borealis). These data are shared for reuse and support reproducibility and transparency in the research process.