EBA: Evidence-Based Acquisitions eBooks

Cambridge University Press (via Cambridge Core)

Subscription renewed annually

ILL: Yes

Alumni access: Yes

Exclusions: Cambridge Histories Online and Cambridge Handbooks  series are excluded from EBA package. The titles within those series to which we have access can be seen via the same platform. 

Overview

UVic Libraries has access to the complete Cambridge University Press EBA eBook collection. The eBooks are accessed via the Cambridge Core platform. 

At the end of the subscription period, UVic Libraries selects eBook titles of our choice, informed by usage statistics, to be purchased and added to our collection permanently.

Cambridge UP includes a number of series in the EBA package and also categorises ebooks as follows:

1.  Books for Research
2.  Coursebooks
3.  Cambridge Library Collections
4.  Textbooks – this category is excluded from the EBA subscription although a few Legacy Textbooks may be included

See below for a list of publisher partners. 

New titles are added each month to the EBA collection and the surest way to check whether we have a particular title (if you know the publisher) is to search the publisher platform.

Search UVic Libraries catalogue if you are unsure of the publisher.

Although we have access to the complete Cambridge University Press EBA collection, unfortunately this does not mean that we have access to everything that Cambridge UP has published.

Some exclusions apply. The most notable exclusions are titles deemed textbooks by the publisher. 

If you have any questions, please contact us at askus@uvic.ca. We're here to help. 

Cambridge University Press Imprints and Publisher Partners

Here is a list of the Cambridge University Press (UP) publisher partners available on the EBA:

• Anthem Press
• Boydell & Brewer
• Edinburgh University Press
• Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research
• Facet Publishing
• Foundation Books
• Intersentia
• ISEAS Yusof Ishak Institute
• Jagiellonian University Press [Poland]
• Liverpool University Press (Not available via Cambridge after July 17, 2023)
• Royal Economic Society
• UNISA (University of South Africa) Press
• The University of Adelaide Press
• Wits University Press

 Not all titles are included - exclusions apply 

How to tell if a newly published Cambridge title will be in EBA

We do not have a list of forthcoming titles but titles that are not associated with any series or special collection will be included in EBA.

A title is NOT included in EBA if it is:

1. on the Higher Education platform
2. in Cambridge Histories
3. in Cambridge Companions
4. in Cambridge Shakespeare
5. in Law Reports series

However, UVic purchases yearly collections for Histories and Companions, so we will have perpetual access to those titles.