LibGuides: Earth & Ocean Sciences: Earth & Ocean Sciences literature DBs

Journal Article Databases

Google Scholar Tip: If using Google Scholar it is recommended to connect via the Libraries website from the "Libraries Databases" page. The Libraries have uploaded our licensed content to Google Scholar so as to let UVic researcher know when access is available and will not be blocked by a pay wall.

Earth & Ocean Sciences Research Databases

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
GEOBASE (Engineering Village 2) GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,700 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles.
Oceanic Abstracts Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. This database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
GeoRef GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
Data Citation Index - Web of Science Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. It is the recognized authority for evaluating journals.
GEOSCAN Database Contains more than 40,000 records covering all the publications of the Geological Survey of Canada, including images of scanned maps.
Federal Sciences Libraries Network (formerly known as WAVES)
WAVES contains bibliographic information about the published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences currently held in the collections of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. [Select
"Limit to the DFO collection"]
Environment Index This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Does UVic subscribe to a specific journal title?

Methods to find whether UVic subscribes to a specific journal title:

Choose one of the following search strategies:

1) Search by the journal title, using the Libraries E-Journals A-Z list.

2) Browse by journal subject category, using the Libraries E-journals by subject web page.

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Courtesy of UBC Science & Engineering Library. Enter a journal abbreviation to determine the full journal title.
All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Selected eJournal Collections

ScienceDirect Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Nature Journals Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is the scientific publishing arm of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, combining the excellence of Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide the world's premier information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
Science Online The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
Wiley Online Journals Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Wiley InterScience reaches a worldwide audience of close to 25 million users in 87 countries and features must-have content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
BioOne High-impact bioscience research journals.
American Chemical Society Journals Access to the full text of all American Chemical Society journals from 1879 to the present.
BioMedCentral Science, technology, and medicine publisher of 281 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Cell Press Journals Biomedical research and reviews.