Earth & Ocean Sciences

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public. - See more at: http://www.eoearth.org/topics/view/51cbfc8bf702fc2ba812cc39/#sthash.bQzgJUH8.dpuf

The Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library. Visit the "What's New" section for details. Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.

The Research Data Archive (RDA), managed by the Data Support Section (DSS) of the Computational and Information Systems Laboratory (CISL) at NCAR (National Center for Atmospheric Research in Bolder Colorado), contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use. Functions as a "reference library for atmospheric data". Ability to search/browse, or contact them directly and they can point you in the right direction.

Unidata's mission is to provide the data services, tools, and cyberinfrastructure leadership that advance earth-system science, enhance educational opportunities, and broaden participation.

The Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) is a key core capability in NASA’s Earth Science Data Systems Program. It provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA’s Earth science data from various sources – satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs. For the EOS satellite missions, EOSDIS provides capabilities for command and control, scheduling, data capture and initial (Level 0) processing. These capabilities, constituting the EOSDIS Mission Operations, are managed by the Earth Science Mission Operations (ESMO) Project. NASA network capabilities transport the data to the science operations facilities.