FInd Articles - Anthropology - Research and Sources - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Journal Article Databases

Browse the full set of Libraries Databases by Subject

Google Scholar Tip: If using Google Scholar it is recommended to connect via the Libraries website from the "Libraries Databases" page. The Libraries have uploaded our licensed content to Google Scholar so as to let UVic researcher know when access is available and will not be blocked by a pay wall.

Anthropology Research Databases & Selected Interdisciplinary Databases:

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Scopus Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content. Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Dissertations and Theses @UVic A service provided to universities that actively publish their graduate students' dissertations and theses with ProQuest's UMI® Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ enables individual universities to access the citations and abstracts of all their student's dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
AnthroSource Contains publications and research of the American Anthropological Association in full-text.
Anthropology Plus Focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Abstracts in Anthropology bstracts in Anthropology (AAX) is a comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume providing coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
JSTOR A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Annual Review of Anthropology The Annual Review of Anthropology covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
eHRAF World Cultures A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. It is the recognized authority for evaluating journals.
SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods Cases SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.

Selected eJournal Collections

Browse our library's "Journals by Subject" to help you with your Anthropology research.

For more specific fields like visual anthropology, ethnography, or primatology, search by journal keyword in the library's catalogue.

ScienceDirect Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Nature Journals Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is the scientific publishing arm of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, combining the excellence of Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide the world's premier information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
Science Online The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
Wiley Online Journals Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Wiley InterScience reaches a worldwide audience of close to 25 million users in 87 countries and features must-have content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) Non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
BioOne High-impact bioscience research journals.
American Chemical Society Journals Access to the full text of all American Chemical Society journals from 1879 to the present.
BioMedCentral Science, technology, and medicine publisher of 281 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Cell Press Journals Biomedical research and reviews.

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.