Editing and Contributing to Wikipedia: Asian Studies
This guide is designed to introduce any Asian Studies specialists and students the basics of contributing to Wikipedia so that they may help improve the quality of Wikipedia articles on topics related to Asian cultures to enhance cross-culture understandi
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSEProvider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
CiNiiCiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. Note: UVic has an institutional site license entitling access to fixed price articles, but fee-based materials require individual registration and additional payments.
It includes biographies of Asian authors, list of their works and relevant literature criticism.
MLA International BibliographyDetailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
PAIS International and ArchiveThis resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database (BERITA)Produced by the staff of the Southeast Asia Collection/Malaysian Resource Center, Ohio University, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material that concern Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole (when the foci countries are included). Also included are materials regarding the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN).
It can serve as a discovery tool of Korean articles, theses and books. Some full-text content is available by downloading a e-reader.
Article Search Tips
Use wild card symbol * to find word variation
e.g. the search term "method*" will retrieve words like methods, methodology, methodological...
Quotation marks are used for phrase search
e.g. "post structuralism"
Keyword Boolean
The three boolean operators "and", "or", "not" are used to connect our search term. It determines the relations between your search terms. e.g. orientalism and critic*
Ask us