LibGuides: HSTR330 A02 Researching Indigenous Rights, Title and Reconciliation in Canada: Other Primary Sources

Other Primary Sources

Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System
ATRIS is a Web-based information system intended to map out the location of Aboriginal communities and display information pertaining to their potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.
British Columbia Archives: Research Guides
Canada Lands Survey System, Survey Plan Search
Consititution Act 1982: Part II Rights of the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada
First Nations Digital Document Source The First Nations Digital Document Source (FNDDS) is a collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues. Documents include court decisions, legislation, treaties, claims policies, privy council orders, research guides, and instructional resources related to land claims and Aboriginal title, particularly in the Canadian context. The FNDDS is owned collectively by the Claims Research Units (CRU) research directors and is currently being maintained by the staff of the Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs (UBCIC).
Heritage Canadiana The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 40 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.

Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada The Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada portal provides a centralized, streamlined means of accessing historical debates of the Senate and House of Commons, in both official languages.

Indian acts and amendments, 1868-1975 : an indexed collection by Sharon Helen Venne Index and consolidation of Indian Acts and amendments, 1868-1975. Commencing with the Revised Statute of 1886, the relevant portions of each amending statute of the revised Indian Act have been inserted following provision affected.
Call Number: Reference: KE7704 1981
ISBN: 9780888801043
Publication Date: 1981

Judgments of the Supreme Court of Canada This collection includes the decisions rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada since 1948 reported in the Supreme Court Reports and all judgements in leave applications since 2006. The collection does not contain all pre-1970 decisions that were not selected for inclusion in the Supreme Court Reports. The collection is updated within minutes of the public release of judgments by the Court.
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
The TRCs archives divides into two parts. The first part of the collection are the documents that were created by the government and churches that ran the schools. Student records are mixed throughout these records. The second part of the collection are the statements that were given to the Commission. To search the collection use the Search button on top left of the home page.

Laws and Regulations related to the Indian Act (1985)
Library and Archives Canada: Aboriginal Heritage
Treaties and Agreements from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
This is an archived page from the now dissolved government agency, containing the texts of federal treaties and contextual information.
UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) was adopted by the General Assembly on Thursday, 13 September 2007, by a majority of 144 states in favour, 4 votes against (Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States) and 11 abstentions (Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burundi, Colombia, Georgia, Kenya, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Samoa and Ukraine).
Union of BC Indian Chiefs: Online Resources