LibGuides: HSTR330 A02 Researching Indigenous Rights, Title and Reconciliation in Canada: Find Journal Articles

Library Search

Library Search is the UVic Libraries single search box option, and covers about 85% of our library collections: print, online, newspapers, music, microforms, and more. Use the tools on the left side of the screen to narrow your results down to what you really want. Or, search Library Search in full, and see results in every format, location and type.

Disciplinary Research Databases

Research Indexes or Databases bring together articles by indexing top journals in that discipline. This allows for more targeted searching and more relevant search results (but can be limiting for interdisciplinary topics).

Alternative Press Index
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, Indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts
Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Anthropology Plus
Focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Arctic and Antarctic Regions
Indexes Arctic resources from the University of Alberta, Scott Polar Research Institute, Library of Congress, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Arctic Bibliography.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
British Columbia Reports 1867 - 1948. The British Columbia Reports is a law report series that was first published in 1884 by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating back to 1867. The series ceased publication in 1948. This collection includes the full text of all decisions published in the series. The Reports, as a body of work, contains important social and legal history of this province, in addition to charting the development of British Columbia law through the course of its publishing history. Includes also the Digest of British Columbia Case Law, a three-volume series of summaries of cases from the Reports, as well as from publications of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in the United Kingdom
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
CANLII Current, up to date, authoritative source of Canadian cases, statutes and regulations, from the federal governemnt of Canada , the provinces and territories. Browse by federal, provincial, or territorial.
Canada Commons Platform for Canadian Electronic Library content. (Formerly desLibris) The University of Victoria subscribe to the collections: Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection Canadian Health Research Collection Canadian Public Policy Collection (federal, provincial, municipal, think tank) Irwin Law Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
HeinOnline A collection of articles published in law reviews and other legal periodicals.
Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law (HeinOnline) Indexes periodical articles associated to the subject of law that are not being indexed in any of the standard legal indexes which include the Current Law Index, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, Legal Resource Index and LegalTrac. Coverage is from 1958 to 2004.
Indigenous Law Portal (Library of Congress)
The Indigenous Law Portal brings together collection materials from the Law Library of Congress as well as links to tribal websites and primary source materials found on the internet.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)
Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.
JSTOR A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.