The library purchases many newspaper databases. There are many advantages to using these purchased databases over using a free web version that you wound using Google. The library newspaper databases include the full text of all news articles with the ability to download. Current articles are included as well as historic articles (anywhere from 10 to a 100 years).
Full text access to newspaper articles, columns, editorials and features, many with extensive backfiles to the mid-1990s. Content includes the Globe and Mail, National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist. Updated daily.
Parliament Now includes a wealth of information about Parliament Hill. Each daily edition features local, national and international event listings, upcoming committee meetings, summaries of both governmental and non-governmental press releases, a detailed look at routine proceedings as well as a legislative outlook for the following day.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Indexes Canadian and international periodicals covering all subject areas and includes fulltext articles some of these titles, as well as the fulltext of selected sections of The Globe and Mail, from 1997 to the present. Fulltext coverage is from January 1995 to the present.
Full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources of information for a wide range of academic research projects. Includes extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search for CBS NEWS to retreive archived Election Surveys, Monthly Polls, and Market Watch surveys published by CBS News.