(1793-1980) Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the printed materials (including the typescript records of Chinese Maritime Customs officials) have been double-keyed and are full-text searchable. All of the manuscript material has been indexed to provide ready accessibi
The database provides the complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in the period of 1949 to 1980. It is one of the few primary resources in English language focusing on this crucial period in Chinese modern history.
Includes government documents, historical records, photos, and resources on modern Japanese history and Japan's relationship with its neighbour countries. Search and view digitalized images of historical records.
Shen Bao (short for Shen jiang xin bao) was a newspaper published in Shanghai, China from April 30, 1872 until May 27, 1949. It is one of the most important primary resources that reflect the Republican China history. To search the database, please do not use simplified Chinese. The search terms need to be in traditional Chinese characters.
This collection documents the founding and history of Victoria’s CCBA, as well as the local Chinese Canadian community’s response to such things as the head taxes, the public school segregation act, and other important events.
Includes collections of primary resources for different ethnic groups in the Canadian Immigration History, including material from Victoria's CCBA. Founded in 1884, the Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association was a crucial force in Victoria’s immigrant history, and these documents illustrate their efforts on behalf of Chinese Canadians during the Head Tax era.