This index provides bibliographic access to materials associated with almost 400 federal Royal Commissions that have taken place since Confederation. There are approximately 7000 items in the index that includes commission reports, briefs, submissions, evidence, working papers and other documents.
Print or microform copies of Royal Commissions are held in the McPherson Library. Check the library catalogue by title to locate.
A selective listing of Canadian federal commisssion. For complete listing, see the "Index to Federal Royal Comissions". Commissions of Inquiry are established by the Governor in Council (Cabinet) to fully and impartially investigate issues of national importance.
A Commission of Inquiry's findings and recommendations are not binding. However, many have a significant impact on public opinion and the shape of public policy.
The TRCs archives divides into two parts. The first part of the collection are the documents that were created by the government and churches that ran the schools. Student records are mixed throughout these records. The second part of the collection are the statements that were given to the Commission. To search the collection use the Search button on top left of the home page.
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples databaseThe Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) was established by Order in Council on August 26, 1991, and it submitted its report in October 1996. The RCAP was mandated to investigate and propose solutions to the challenges affecting the relationship between Aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), the Canadian government and Canadian society as a whole.
This database provides access to documents, such as intervenor project submissions, publications, research reports and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.
The Cohen commission website is now only available in the Internet Archive's Wayback Archive. The website was crawled and archived 5 times between November 2013 and July 2014 by SFU. Site includes: Terms of Reference;
Calendars and transcripts;
Interim reports and publications.
The Indexed TRC Calls to Action is a resource that connects the 94 Calls to Action to the relevant parts of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Final Report. The indexed pages provide an entry point into the Final Report for each of the subdivisions of the Calls to Action. This resource is an educational tool designed to enhance the accessibility of the Final Report, promote engagement with the Calls to Action, and thus help further the reconciliation project initiated by the TRC. Created by the University of Victoria Libraries.