Statutes and Regulations, Case Law - Government Publications - British Columbia - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

About this page

Statutes, regulations and bills are available in print in the Main Library and the Law Library. Online versions are available for current versions. Superceded versions are only available online going back about twenty years. For assistance contact the Law Library lawref@uvic.ca.

For an introduction to legislation and the legislative process, consult the resources listed below:

Legislation Made Easy, 3rd ed by Gail Nash
Call Number: KA220 N344 2010
ISBN: 0771891989
Publication Date: 2010
How to understand an act of Parliament by Gifford, D.J.
Call Number: Internet Resource
Updating statutes and regulations for all Canadian jurisdictions by McCormack, Nancy
Call Number: Law Library KE250 M339 2012
Publication Date: 2012
5th ed.

Case Law

Nexis Uni
Choose the "International Legal" tab, then "Canadian Cases". Search or browse for Canadian court cases from the Supreme Court of Canada, and other federal, provincial and territorial courts.
CANLII
Current, up to date, authoritative source of Canadian cases, statutes and regulations, from the federal governemnt of Canada , the provinces and territories. Browse by federal, provincial, or territorial.
British Columbia Reports 1867 - 1948.
The British Columbia Reports is a law report series that was first published in 1884 by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating back to 1867. The series ceased publication in 1948. This collection includes the full text of all decisions published in the series. The Reports, as a body of work, contains important social and legal history of this province, in addition to charting the development of British Columbia law through the course of its publishing history. Includes also the Digest of British Columbia Case Law, a three-volume series of summaries of cases from the Reports, as well as from publications of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in the United Kingdom

Statutes and Regulations

BC Laws
BC Laws provides free public access to the current laws of British Columbia. This unofficial current consolidation of BC Statutes and Regulations is updated continually as new and amended laws come into force.
Legislative Assembly of British Columbia
START at "Documents and Proceedings". Hansard (Debates), Votes and Proceedings, Bills, and Legislative committee business for British Columbia Legislative Assembly from the 35th Parliament, 1st session (1992) to the present. Print holdings from 1858 to the present held in the Main Library.
Quickscribe
Access up-to-date and historical BC and Federal legislation, Bills, Orders-In-Council, etc. The legislative content is fully searchable and printable. CLICK THE LOGIN button at top right to enter site. No password required.

CANLII Current, up to date, authoritative source of Canadian cases, statutes and regulations, from the federal governemnt of Canada , the provinces and territories. Browse by federal, provincial, or territorial.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital Includes Canadian, US, UK and other national historical legal, government, and international materials.

Legislative Histories

Legislative histories provide details on the passage of legislation through a parliament or legislature. Legislation is introduced as a bill; once a bill is passed, and recieves Royal Assent, it becomes a statute. A legislative history will include details on the progress of a bill through the Legislative Assembly, including readings, debates, and committee hearings. A history may also refer to speeches and news releases from the responsible minister, background documents, and on occasion, draft legislation. To start, determien the date and /or session and parliament the bill was introduced.

Your starting point for British Columbia legislative histories is the Progress of Bills table from the Legislative Assembly website, or use the Bills section of BC Laws.

To read a current version of British Columbia laws, go to the website BC Laws.

Consult also online newspapers and online ebook collections Canadian Public Policy collection.Use other library resources listed under the Find Articles tab.