LibGuides: RS305 Magic, Mysticism, and the Occult: Start Here

About the Course Guide

Bookmark me! You will find here the books, journals, databases, citation guides, and other information that are helpful for your study in the course RS 305.

Click on the tabs on the left to find different types of resources.

Best Bets

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1908.

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Religion by William J. Wainwright (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195331356
Publication Date: 2007-06-21
Check about the chapter "Mysticism and Religious Experience". It gave a great academic summary on the topic

PsycINFO Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Leslie A. Shepard
ISBN: 0810301962
Publication Date: 1984-05-01