Try these databases first for journal articles and more.
MLA International BibliographyDetailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and LiteratureContains >500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and more, published anywhere in the world on English literature. Also includes full text of over 60 journals.
Bibliography of British and Irish HistoryGuide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
British Periodicals CollectionHundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Gale Literature CriticismThe largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world, Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Online (LION)A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English, Canadian and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference
Periodicals Archive OnlineAn online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text™) offers unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)An electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences going as far back as 1665.
Secondary Sources: Specific Journals
This is a selected list of journals about Victorian literature, culture and history.
Ask us