A web guide dedicated the scholarly study of 19th century Britain and designed to assist researchers with all areas of scholarly inquiry. Includes research resources, a journal guide, guide to discussion groups and blogs, teaching resources and links to other Victorian resources.
Since 1933, the Victorian Bibliography has listed noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America, the Bibliography annually indexes over 400 journals, representing scholarship in a range of disciplines.
The Victorian Bibliography is organized in a six part division:
Section 1 lists both enumerative bibliographies relating to the period and studies of printing, publishing, libraries, and book production.
Section 2 lists documents, general histories, and studies in historiography.
Section 3 (subdivided into six parts) lists titles on Victorian economics, education, politics, religion, science, and social environment.
Section 4 lists references to all arts except literature, including studies of architecture, household arts, landscape, music, painting, the performing arts, photography, and sculpture.
Section 5 focuses exclusively on literature, literary history, and the development of literary forms.
Section 6 lists individual authors, first citing significant new editions of their works and then listing critical and biographical studies; journals devoted to individual authors are enumerated in this section in single, extended entries, but reviews appearing in their pages are listed under the title of the book reviewed.
This online full-text bibliography supplements Pre-Raphaelitism in the Nineteenth-Century Press (ELS 2002, ISBN 0-920604-81-1). While the published text contains enumerative citations covering the period between 1846 and 1900, this online supplement contains the FULL TEXT for citations to items from the first "long decade" of Pre-Raphaelitism: 1846 to 1860.
The Victorian Poetry Network (VPN) aims to be a virtual hub for Victorian poetry research and teaching. VPN is a collaborative project, bringing together scholars and students of Victorian poetry to create a dynamic digital community. VPN will achieve three things: a blog authored by the VPN team and invited scholars in the field, a resource centre for research projects and teaching, and a social space.
A searchable electronic index to the science content of sixteen nineteenth-century general periodicals.The SciPer Index contains entries for over 14,000 articles and references to more than 6000 individuals and 2500 publications.