LibGuides: Religious Studies: Find Books

Books and E-books

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO includes a variety of materials — from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements — and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare.

Internet Archive

Early American Imprints - Evans, 1639-1800 Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
Early Canadiana Online A digital library providing access to millions of pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.
Early American Imprints - Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Early European Books History of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

How to Find Books

Use the library catalogue
Use the "Search in" drop-down list to search by title, author, etc.
Note the Call Number on the book record
Use the "Show me Where" link found on the right hand side of the book record to see where in the library, or sometimes on Campus the book can be found.

Image credit: Bixia Tang

You can also use a known item to find more books on similar topics

Search for the book in the library catalogue
In the book record, look for "Subjects", which are the topics that this book is classified under.
Select one subject to see a list of books on this topic.
Or note that Call Number of the known item, books on the same topic are usually shelved together.

Option 1: select one Subject Heading/Topic listed in the box below to see a list of books on that topic.

Option 2: use the call number ranges listed in the box below to find books on the stacks.

Option 3: try key word search in Library Search. Limit results to Book/Ebook. Once you find a book on your topic, it will lead you to more books.

Interlibrary Loan Services at UVic
Interlibrary loan provides you with resources from other libraries when UVic does not hold the item you need for your study or research.

Browsing Books

BL300-325 The myth. Comparative mythology
BL660-2680 History and principles of religions
BL2700-2790 Rationalism
BM1-990 Judaism
BP1-610 Islam. Bahai Faith. Theosophy, etc.
BQ1-9800 Buddhism
BR1-1725 Christianity
BS1-2970 The Bible
BT10-1480 Doctrinal Theology
BV1-5099 Practical Theology
BX1-9999 Christian Denominations